Nathan Cone http://tpr.org en A Hollywood Composer's Family Legacy Continues http://tpr.org/post/hollywood-composers-family-legacy-continues <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Multiple Academy Award-winning composer Alfred Newman was the most well-known member of a family dynasty of musicians, composers, and conductors that includes David Newman (</span>“Hoffa”<span style="line-height: 1.5;">), Randy Newman (songwriter and composer), and Thomas Newman (“The </span>Shawshank<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Redemption,” “American Beauty”). Thu, 19 Jun 2014 04:06:14 +0000 Nathan Cone 33654 at http://tpr.org A Hollywood Composer's Family Legacy Continues Soaring A Second Time In "Dragon 2" http://tpr.org/post/soaring-second-time-dragon-2 <div>“How To Train Your Dragon 2” is a rare sequel that lives up to the original, here in both visual quality and tone. Sometimes, animated sequels tend to go off the razzle-dazzle rails in an attempt to prove their worth (see: “Shrek” franchise), but HTTYD2 eschews flash in favor of keeping with the spirit of the first film, a great animated adventure with heart.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div><p>In that first movie, we met Hiccup, the gangly son of a Viking village chief, who learns the secret to defending his village from dragon attacks is to befriend the creatures, not try to kill them off. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 16:15:28 +0000 Nathan Cone 33257 at http://tpr.org Soaring A Second Time In "Dragon 2" A Documentary That's "Partly Fiction" http://tpr.org/post/documentary-thats-partly-fiction <p></p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 03:42:44 +0000 Nathan Cone 32689 at http://tpr.org A Documentary That's "Partly Fiction" Klezmer Jazz Goes To The Movies On "The Big Picture" http://tpr.org/post/klezmer-jazz-goes-movies-big-picture <p></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 01:44:46 +0000 Nathan Cone 31025 at http://tpr.org Klezmer Jazz Goes To The Movies On "The Big Picture" Enjoy Red White & Blue Sounds During Fiesta With USAF Band http://tpr.org/post/enjoy-red-white-blue-sounds-during-fiesta-usaf-band <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Members of the <a href="http://www.bandofthewest.af.mil/ensembles/BandEnsembleBio.asp?EnsembleID=33" target="_blank">Gateway Brass</a> recently visited the TPR studios for a performance and conversation about their careers in music and in the U.S. Air Force. You can hear three songs recorded in our session at the bottom of this page.</span></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:20:51 +0000 Nathan Cone 30148 at http://tpr.org Enjoy Red White & Blue Sounds During Fiesta With USAF Band "Rio 2" A Colorful Yet Crowded Travelogue http://tpr.org/post/rio-2-colorful-yet-crowded-travelogue <p></p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 04:31:26 +0000 Nathan Cone 29966 at http://tpr.org "Rio 2" A Colorful Yet Crowded Travelogue Rock Guitarists Go Symphonic On New Disc http://tpr.org/post/rock-guitarists-go-symphonic-new-disc <p>Rock and classical have been mixing together like peanut butter and chocolate since the 1960s. On one side, there were groups like Electric Light Orchestra, ELP, Gryphon, and Yes adding symphonic elements to rock music, and on the other, composers such as Terry Riley, Philip Glass, Ennio Morricone, and George Crumb borrowed the amplified sounds of rock in works such as “Black Angels” (Crumb), “A Rainbow In Curved Air” (Riley), or pretty much the entire output of Glass’ work in the 1970s.</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:17:06 +0000 Nathan Cone 29819 at http://tpr.org Rock Guitarists Go Symphonic On New Disc Girl In A Coma Side Project Gets 'Ugly' http://tpr.org/post/girl-coma-side-project-gets-ugly <p>Phanie Diaz and Jenn Alva, two-thirds of the power-punk alternative trio <a href="http://girlinacoma.com/" target="_blank">Girl In A Coma</a>, want to emphasize that their new project, <a href="https://www.facebook.com/fea210" target="_blank">FEA</a>, doesn’t mean the popular San Antonio-based band is breaking up. But with singer (and Phanie's sister) Nina Diaz embarking on a solo record, Alva (bass) and Diaz (drums) felt the time was right to flex their creative muscles.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:40:57 +0000 Nathan Cone 29653 at http://tpr.org Girl In A Coma Side Project Gets 'Ugly' "Fantasia" Video Game Mixes Bruno Mars And Mussorgsky http://tpr.org/post/fantasia-video-game-mixes-bruno-mars-and-mussorgsky <p></p><p>Here at KPAC, we’re excited about discovering new music, and we’ve found that video games, like cartoons and movies before them, are a great way to introduce kids to classical music. Disney is taking the lead this year with a new game for Xbox based on their classic animated film “Fantasia,” called “Fantasia: Music Evolved.” In the game, players <em>"enter the magical realm of Fantasia, selected by the legendary sorcerer Yen Sid, to hone their musical and magical prowess as his new apprentice."</em></p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 14:14:58 +0000 Nathan Cone 28797 at http://tpr.org "Fantasia" Video Game Mixes Bruno Mars And Mussorgsky Retired Schoolteacher Helps TPR Win First "Rusty Hubcap" Award http://tpr.org/post/retired-schoolteacher-helps-tpr-win-first-rusty-hubcap-award <p>Texas Public Radio was tickled to learn recently that the first ever Rusty Hubcap Award has been bestowed upon the organization by the Car Talk Vehicle Donation Program. Donald Braun, a Floresville native and current resident of San Antonio, donated his 1948 <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buick_Roadmaster#1942.E2.80.931948" target="_blank">Buick Roadmaster</a>&nbsp;to the program, identifying TPR as the recipient of the gift.</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 18:22:23 +0000 Nathan Cone 27457 at http://tpr.org Retired Schoolteacher Helps TPR Win First "Rusty Hubcap" Award