Jeff Lunden http://tpr.org en New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://tpr.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:24:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 33967 at http://tpr.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://tpr.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 31406 at http://tpr.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool Road Between Broadway And Hollywood Isn't A One-Way Street http://tpr.org/post/road-between-broadway-and-hollywood-isnt-one-way-street <em>Rocky: The Musical</em>. Really?<p>Producer Bill Taylor says even the show's creators didn't buy the idea at first. "If you speak to all of the authors and all of the creative team, their instinctive reaction, when first hearing about <em>Rocky</em> becoming a musical, ranges from incredulity to plain crazy," he says.<p>For many years, the relationship between Broadway and Hollywood went one way: from stage to screen. But in the past couple of decades, some of the biggest Broadway hits have been adapted from films — think <em>Hairspray</em> or <em>Kinky Boots</em>. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 21:34:49 +0000 Jeff Lunden 28163 at http://tpr.org Road Between Broadway And Hollywood Isn't A One-Way Street 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://tpr.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 26073 at http://tpr.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? http://tpr.org/post/oppression-opera-could-womans-courage-change-pakistan Mukhtar Mai is from a small tribal village in Pakistan. In 2002, her brother was accused of sexually molesting a woman from a wealthy land-owning clan. What happened next was horrifying, says singer and composer Kamala Sankaram.<p>"For retribution, the village council decided that Mukhtar should be gang-raped by four of the men of this clan," Sankaram says. "And what is supposed to happen for a woman after this has taken place is that, not only has she shamed herself, she's brought dishonor to the rest of her family, as well. Sun, 12 Jan 2014 20:42:29 +0000 Jeff Lunden 24958 at http://tpr.org Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://tpr.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 24489 at http://tpr.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://tpr.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 23673 at http://tpr.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come Energetic, Intimate 'Letters' Reveal Private Leonard Bernstein http://tpr.org/post/energetic-intimate-letters-reveal-private-leonard-bernstein <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15234027/leonard-bernstein" target="_blank">Leonard Bernstein</a> was a singular American genius. One of the great orchestra conductors of the 20th Century, he was also a composer of hit musicals like <em>West Side Story</em>, as well as symphonies and ballets. He was a teacher and television personality — his Young People's Concerts introduced generations of children to classical music.<p>But that was the public man. A new collection of letters written both by and to Bernstein is being published this week. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 14:50:30 +0000 Jeff Lunden 20917 at http://tpr.org Energetic, Intimate 'Letters' Reveal Private Leonard Bernstein Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://tpr.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 03:20:47 +0000 Jeff Lunden 19488 at http://tpr.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars http://tpr.org/post/american-masterpiece-and-menagerie-stars Pop-culture aficionadoes will know Zachary Quinto as Spock in the cinematic reboot of <em>Star Trek</em>, and Cherry Jones as President Taylor from television's <em>24</em>.<p>But both are accomplished stage actors as well. And tonight, they're opening on Broadway, in a revival of Tennessee Williams' classic play <em>The Glass Menagerie</em>.<p>When the audience enters the Booth Theater, they see a simple, but striking vision. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:49:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 19198 at http://tpr.org An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars