Bob Mondello http://tpr.org en Big Names, High Production Values ... And These Are Indie Flicks? http://tpr.org/post/big-names-high-production-values-and-these-are-indie-flicks A small budget doesn't mean a film can't have big-name stars or high production values. Witness the rural Southern drama <em>Joe</em>, which brings Nicolas Cage back to indie films, and Jim Jarmusch's <em>Only Lovers Left Alive, </em>which turns the city of Detroit into an otherworldly landscape. Their low-budget aesthetic also allows these films to turn Hollywood conventions inside out.<p>The title character in <em>Joe</em> poisons trees for a living. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 03:36:18 +0000 Bob Mondello 29930 at http://tpr.org Big Names, High Production Values ... And These Are Indie Flicks? Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground http://tpr.org/post/send-out-doves-noah-lands-solid-ground The story of Noah's Ark is getting blockbuster treatment in Hollywood's new biblical epic <em>Noah</em>. Darren Aronofsky's film about the Old Testament shipbuilder has been sparking controversy — but there's no denying that the Great Flood, digitized, is a pretty great flood.<p>"In the beginning there was ... Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 29117 at http://tpr.org Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground Review: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' http://tpr.org/post/review-grand-budapest-hotel Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Filmmaker Wes Anderson makes movies that are eccentric, pointedly artificial and, to his fans, very funny. From his early comedies "Rushmore" and "The Royal Tannenbaums," to last year's Oscar-nominated "Moonrise Kingdom," Anderson's movies have looked and sounded different from everyone else's in Hollywood. And critic Bob Mondello says that streak continues with his spoof of extravagant 1930s melodramas. It's called "The Grand Budapest Hotel."<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: The hotel looks a bit like a pink wedding cake perched atop a Swiss Alp. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 27898 at http://tpr.org Alain Resnais, Director And Master Of Disorientation, Dies At 91 http://tpr.org/post/alain-resnais-director-and-master-disorientation-dies-91 Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The French filmmaker who shook up European cinema and offered inspiration to directors as varied as Woody Allen and David Lynch died on Saturday. Alain Resnais caused a sensation with his films "Hiroshima Mon Amour" and "Last Year at Marienbad" in the 1950s and '60s. Critic Bob Mondello offers an appreciation.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Memory, or rather how unreliable memory can be, fascinated Alain Resnais. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 27648 at http://tpr.org Harold Ramis: A Big-Screen Comedy Nerd, Eager To Please http://tpr.org/post/harold-ramis-big-screen-comedy-nerd-eager-please <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSVeDx9fk60</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 02:44:04 +0000 Bob Mondello 27280 at http://tpr.org Harold Ramis: A Big-Screen Comedy Nerd, Eager To Please Plenty Of Heart, Not Much Art In 'Monuments Men' http://tpr.org/post/plenty-heart-not-much-art-monuments-men There's a fascinating tale to be told in <em>The Monuments Men</em>, George Clooney's new film based on the true story of a search for looted art stolen by the Nazis during World War II. In real life, with fighting still raging on the battlefields of Europe, a small team of art experts searched urgently for tens of thousands of missing paintings and sculptures. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 03:28:16 +0000 Bob Mondello 26339 at http://tpr.org Plenty Of Heart, Not Much Art In 'Monuments Men' On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances http://tpr.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-and-his-many-appearances <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzY2pWrXB_0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ_4m2ocxhI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRud1so-Z-M</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:27:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 26119 at http://tpr.org On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud http://tpr.org/post/century-ago-today-chaplin-made-his-film-debut-dud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LoLw4TJKdU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j2K3A1S5ak</p> Sun, 02 Feb 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 26067 at http://tpr.org A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role http://tpr.org/post/peter-otoole-exuberant-lawrence-his-last-role Blond, blue-eyed and wearing blazing white robes in <em>Lawrence Of Arabia</em>, Peter O'Toole was handsome enough — many said beautiful enough — to carry off the scene in which director David Lean simultaneously made stars of both his title character and his leading man.<p>The scene: a wrecked train, blown up by Lawrence and surrounded by his Bedouin followers, one of whom has just smashed a news photographer's camera. O'Toole's Lawrence explains that the man thinks the camera will steal his soul. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 07:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 23600 at http://tpr.org Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role Among The Holiday Glut, 3 Movies About The Creative Life http://tpr.org/post/among-holiday-glut-3-movies-about-creative-life It's movie-binge time — that month-long surge of Oscar hopefuls and would-be blockbusters Hollywood always winds up the year with. Mon, 02 Dec 2013 17:55:41 +0000 Bob Mondello 22861 at http://tpr.org Among The Holiday Glut, 3 Movies About The Creative Life