Neda Ulaby http://tpr.org en For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet http://tpr.org/post/these-vegans-masculinity-means-protecting-planet Real men eat meat. They kill it and then they grill it.<p>That's the stereotype, or cliche, that's about as old as time.<p>At a recent barbecue in Brooklyn, N.Y., a half-dozen guys who resist that particular cultural stereotype gathered together. Many of them are muscled semi-professional athletes, including triathlete Dominic Thompson, competitive bodybuilder Giacomo Marchese and mixed martial arts fighter Cornell Ward.<p>They're also all vegans and eschew all animal products. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 35442 at http://tpr.org For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet 'I Kinda Stole The Show': Laverne Cox And The Path To Prestige Television http://tpr.org/post/i-kinda-stole-show-laverne-cox-and-path-prestige-television "My femininity was seen as a problem that needed to be solved."<p>Laverne Cox is talking about her childhood in Mobile, Ala. She remembers being routinely chased and beaten by classmates after school. Cox was born biologically male, and her gender identity was confusing and threatening not just to other children but to the grown-ups in her life as well. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 33023 at http://tpr.org 'I Kinda Stole The Show': Laverne Cox And The Path To Prestige Television John Green's 'Stars' Shines Bright On The Silver Screen http://tpr.org/post/john-greens-stars-shines-bright-silver-screen It's a writer's fantasy. You author a book. It hits the young adult jackpot. It sells 10 million copies. Hollywood actors fight for parts in the movie.<p>Welcome to John Green's reality. Not too long ago, in New York City, he introduced a screening of the film based on his novel, <em>The Fault in Our Stars</em>, to an audience of hundreds of teenagers ecstatically screaming his name. They cried copiously throughout the film, which follows a romance between two teenagers with cancer.<p>The next morning, in his hotel suite, Green appeared somewhat dazed. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 14:44:28 +0000 Neda Ulaby 32903 at http://tpr.org John Green's 'Stars' Shines Bright On The Silver Screen Hard 'G' Or Soft, The GIF Takes Its Place As A Modern Art Form http://tpr.org/post/hard-g-or-soft-gif-takes-its-place-modern-art-form "!!!!"<p>That was the body of the note from NPR producer Evie Stone, along with a link to an exhibition at the Museum of the Moving Image titled <a href="http://www.movingimage.us/exhibitions/2014/03/12/detail/the-reaction-gif-moving-image-as-gesture/">The Reaction GIF: Moving Image as Gesture</a>.<p>Obviously, Evie and I share a certain sensibility. Fri, 09 May 2014 14:27:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 31424 at http://tpr.org Hard 'G' Or Soft, The GIF Takes Its Place As A Modern Art Form NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://tpr.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:25:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30042 at http://tpr.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 http://tpr.org/post/dance-music-legend-frankie-knuckles-dies-59 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrGnh7QUDo</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 29298 at http://tpr.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 This Year, Biblical Films Are Fruitful And Multiplying http://tpr.org/post/year-biblical-films-are-fruitful-and-multiplying There's a flood of biblical proportions this year in Hollywood: <em>Noah,</em> starring Russell Crowe, floats into theaters Thursday. It follows <em>Son of God, </em>another Bible-based movie released by 20th Century Fox. And later in 2014, we'll see <em>Exodus,</em> a 3-D epic based on the story of Moses from director Ridley Scott.<p>Why so many Bible movies in 2014? "It just has to be that God is moving. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 13:43:31 +0000 Neda Ulaby 29080 at http://tpr.org This Year, Biblical Films Are Fruitful And Multiplying Forget Nancy Drew: Thanks To Fans, 'Veronica Mars' Is Back On The Case http://tpr.org/post/forget-nancy-drew-thanks-fans-veronica-mars-back-case When Rob Thomas created <em>Veronica Mars</em>, his show about a sharp-elbowed girl detective, he had an ulterior motive: He wanted to kill off the reigning queen of teenaged sleuths — one who's been around for more than 80 years.<p>"Nancy Drew," Thomas says, his soft-spoken affect barely betrayed by a trace of a snarl. "Like, I feel like <em>she had her run</em>."<p>Thomas gently eases himself into a faux leather couch backstage at <em>Last Call With Carson Daly</em>, where he's just wrapped up an interview with the host. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 14:59:02 +0000 Neda Ulaby 28261 at http://tpr.org Forget Nancy Drew: Thanks To Fans, 'Veronica Mars' Is Back On The Case A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://tpr.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27562 at http://tpr.org Oscar Glow, Today's Tech Help Short Films Find Their Fandom http://tpr.org/post/oscar-glow-todays-tech-help-short-films-find-their-fandom <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3PUqY6HI20</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLnrn9Nw1iM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sw965Xye8Rk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrXHcQyixTE</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 14:53:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27511 at http://tpr.org Oscar Glow, Today's Tech Help Short Films Find Their Fandom