Audie Cornish http://tpr.org en The Wonders Of The Year 2014, As Told By Isaac Asimov http://tpr.org/post/wonders-year-2014-told-isaac-asimov Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>A moment now remember how the future looked 50 years ago today.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF DOCUMENTARY, "FUTURAMA")<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Welcome to a journey into the future, a journey for everyone today, into the everywhere of tomorrow.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>On this date in 1964, the New York World's Fair opened. It offered visions of a better future, much of it based on technology. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 30472 at http://tpr.org For A Fast Track To Blossom, Just Send Some Seeds To Space http://tpr.org/post/fast-track-blossom-just-send-some-seeds-space After spending eight months on a Japanese space expedition, a cherry pit that's now four years old has mysteriously blossomed six years before it was due. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 30103 at http://tpr.org Months Of Training And A Moment Of Silence As Marathon Draws Near http://tpr.org/post/months-training-and-moment-silence-marathon-draws-near Even as Boston pays tribute to the victims of the marathon bombing, runners are preparing to run in the race next week. NPR is following the stories of eight of these participants, dubbed the "NPR 8." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 30109 at http://tpr.org RIP ET: The Legend Of The Long-Buried Video Game http://tpr.org/post/rip-et-legend-long-buried-video-game Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>"E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial" is a beloved and popular Steven Spielberg movie from 1982. Less known is that E.T. was also a video game.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>CORNISH: A lousy game. In fact, it's regarded as one of the worst ever made. It has a few problems.<p>NICK MONTFORT: Well...<p>(LAUGHTER)<p>MONTFORT: ...it's hard to know where to start.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>That's Nick Montfort, associate professor of Digital Media at MIT.<p>MONTFORT: There are cases where, you know, as soon as you would levitate E.T. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 28894 at http://tpr.org Putin Speaks, Decries U.S. For 'Experimenting On Rats' In Ukraine http://tpr.org/post/putin-speaks-decries-us-experimenting-rats-ukraine In Moscow, Russian President Vladimir Putin defended his position on Ukraine. In a news conference, Putin denied that Russian troops are in Crimea but reserved the right to use force in Ukraine. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 27705 at http://tpr.org Obama Announces Task Force To Help Young Minority Men http://tpr.org/post/obama-announces-task-force-help-young-minority-men Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK: This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>President Obama kicked off a new initiative this afternoon aimed at improving the odds for young black and Latino men. The White House calls the program My Brother's Keeper. The idea is to bring together business people, faith leaders, athletes and celebrities to confront the challenges facing young men of color. Major charities have pledged $200 million to the cause over the next five years. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:40:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 27474 at http://tpr.org 4 Million Forgotten Songs Might Finally Find Ears http://tpr.org/post/4-million-forgotten-songs-might-finally-find-ears Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. According to data released by the music streaming service, Spotify, 20 percent of the songs in its catalogue have never been listened to. That's about 4 million tracks that have gone unheard on Spotify.<p>CORNISH: Undiscovered.<p>BLOCK: And some have simply been forgotten, that is until now. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 22:44:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 26396 at http://tpr.org When It Comes To Cuts, Pentagon Claims An Eye On The Future http://tpr.org/post/when-it-comes-cuts-pentagon-claims-eye-future Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>NPR Pentagon correspondent Tom Bowman joins us now to talk about the Pentagon's view on cuts to military benefits. And Tom, we just heard from Quil that retirees feel the military is essentially breaking faith with those who served. But what do Pentagon leaders say to that?<p>TOM BOWMAN, BYLINE: Well, Audie, I spoke with the chairman of the Joint Chiefs, General Martin Dempsey earlier this week and I asked him about these pension cuts and here's what he had to say.<p>GENERAL MARTIN DEMPSEY: Look. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 22:16:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 25219 at http://tpr.org Hopes Dim For Long-Term Extension To Jobless Benefits http://tpr.org/post/hopes-dim-long-term-extension-jobless-benefits The Senate is still struggling to find a way to pay for an extension of unemployment benefits for those out of work for 26 weeks or more. Majority leader Harry Reid agreed to bring up five Democratic and five Republican amendments in hopes to winning enough Republicans over to get to the 60 votes needed for passage. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 25085 at http://tpr.org Christie Delivers Statewide Address Under Increased Scrutiny http://tpr.org/post/christie-delivers-statewide-address-under-increased-scrutiny Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Embattled New Jersey Governor Chris Christie was back in the spotlight today. The annual State of the State speech came at an awkward moment for Christie. The Republican governor had not spoken publicly since apologizing last week for politically motivated lane closures at the George Washington Bridge. Christie acknowledged the unfolding scandal at the start of his speech.<p>GOVERNOR CHRIS CHRISTIE: The last week has certainly tested this administration. Mistakes were clearly made. And as a result, we let down the people we're entrusted to serve. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 25088 at http://tpr.org