KPAC Blog http://tpr.org en How To Be A Professional Triangle Player In 17 Easy Steps http://tpr.org/post/how-be-professional-triangle-player-17-easy-steps The participatory journalist <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=98642668" target="_blank">George Plimpton</a> did many things. He boxed against Sugar Ray Robinson. He tried his hand as a high wire circus performer. Sat, 05 Jul 2014 15:29:03 +0000 Tamara Keith 34557 at http://tpr.org How To Be A Professional Triangle Player In 17 Easy Steps The Man Behind 'The Star Spangled Banner' http://tpr.org/post/man-behind-star-spangled-banner This year marks the 200th anniversary of &#8220;The Star Spangled Banner.&#8221; Francis Scott Key scribbled the words on the back of a letter he had in his pocket after he had watched the Battle of Baltimore during the War of 1812. British forces bombarded the city for 25 hours, but the guns went silent around 3 a.m. that September morning.<p>&#8220;So they had to wait until the dawn&#8217;s early light,&#8221; historian <strong>Marc Leepson</strong> tells <a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org"><em>Here & Now</em></a>&#8216;s Robin Young. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 22:46:53 +0000 editor 34537 at http://tpr.org The Man Behind 'The Star Spangled Banner' After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York http://tpr.org/post/after-36-years-trumpeter-sounds-his-last-note-new-york <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWZoejVZnzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGLw9wC1bEE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVRSI6-MMiQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVcnjIr2Ugo</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:04:30 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 34495 at http://tpr.org After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York UTSA's Statewide Choir Retreat "Boot Camp" http://tpr.org/post/utsas-statewide-choir-retreat-boot-camp <p>The halls of UTSA have been filled with the sound of singing the last few days thanks to a statewide choir camp, which brought about 250 high school students statewide onto the campus.</p><p>UTSA Professor of Music Gary Mabry said the camp begins Sunday evening and runs through Wednesday afternoon.</p><p>Those students are broken up into alto, tenors, sopranos and basses, and they’re sectioned off to work with group leaders.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:40:36 +0000 Jack Morgan 34355 at http://tpr.org UTSA's Statewide Choir Retreat "Boot Camp" Julius Rudel, Longtime Director Of New York City Opera, Dies At 93 http://tpr.org/post/julius-rudel-longtime-director-new-york-city-opera-dies-93 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1vD1tJCoH0</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:44:13 +0000 Mark Mobley 34133 at http://tpr.org Julius Rudel, Longtime Director Of New York City Opera, Dies At 93 New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://tpr.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:24:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 33967 at http://tpr.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow SA Choral Society Gears Up For European Swing With Mission Concepcion Performance http://tpr.org/post/sa-choral-society-gears-european-swing-mission-concepcion-performance <p>The San Antonio Choral Society is performing Thursday night at a special place. And it’s only the first in a run of special places coming up soon. That place is Mission Concepción.</p><p>“A lot of our music is <em>a capella,</em> so just being able to sing in a space that was basically built for music, and it's very similar to the churches and cathedrals we’ll be in in Europe,” said San Antonio Choral Society's Jennifer Seighman.</p><p>The show is Thursday at 7 p.m. and is free. After the Mission Concepción performance they are off to Europe.</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:20:18 +0000 Jack Morgan 33934 at http://tpr.org SA Choral Society Gears Up For European Swing With Mission Concepcion Performance Cactus Pear Music Festival Turns 18 http://tpr.org/post/cactus-pear-music-festival-turns-18 <p></p><p>A musical tradition was created 18 years ago here in San Antonio called the Cactus Pear Music Festival and it was created by a former concertmaster of the San Antonio Symphony, Stephanie Sant'Ambrogio.</p><p>“I knew I wanted to start a chamber music festival because there was nothing going on, classical music speaking, during the summer months," said Sant'Ambrogio.</p><p>So she devised the idea of the festival, but was short a name for it, a name that ended up being created in the most San Antonio of ways. Sant'Ambrogio picks up the story from there:</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:38:37 +0000 Jack Morgan 33880 at http://tpr.org Cactus Pear Music Festival Turns 18 The Ghostly Sound Of The Theremin http://tpr.org/post/ghostly-sound-theremin Even if you’re not familiar with the musical instrument called the theremin, chances are you’ve heard its ghostly sound. The theremin is unique because of how it’s played: you make music without touching it. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 18:59:00 +0000 editor 33874 at http://tpr.org The Ghostly Sound Of The Theremin Concert Hall Encourages Less Stuffy Classical Music http://tpr.org/post/concert-hall-encourages-less-stuffy-classical-music Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. A concert hall in Bristol, England, wanted to make classical music less stuffy. During Handel's "Messiah," they told people to act like it was a rock concert. Crowd to the front with your drinks. Shout when you like. But the theater says Doctor David Glowacki went too far. Video shows him crowd surfing - and not very well. For this, he was thrown out. The unhappy scientist now says classical music seems like, quote, "a fossilized art form undergoing a midlife crisis." It's MORNING EDITION. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 09:43:00 +0000 editor 33847 at http://tpr.org