World Music with Deirdre Saravia http://tpr.org en Rodrigo y Gabriela, 'The Russian Messenger' http://tpr.org/post/rodrigo-y-gabriela-russian-messenger <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dN91dhERgA</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 13:20:39 +0000 Robin Hilton 30134 at http://tpr.org Rodrigo y Gabriela, 'The Russian Messenger' Calle 13, On Being Loved And Hated In Latin America http://tpr.org/post/calle-13-being-loved-and-hated-latin-america <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXtJkDHEAAc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMYJvwwlg64</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0cVKmkYamU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZ7mt30A6aY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZ99Yllz3ZI</p> Sun, 06 Apr 2014 01:58:51 +0000 Jasmine Garsd 29580 at http://tpr.org Calle 13, On Being Loved And Hated In Latin America A Music Of Exile: Haiti During The Duvalier Years http://tpr.org/post/music-exile-haiti-during-duvalier-years <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ls-Zxnf2w6A</p> Sun, 06 Apr 2014 01:58:38 +0000 NPR Staff 29578 at http://tpr.org A Music Of Exile: Haiti During The Duvalier Years Indian Classical Music Meets Beat Box In 'Exit 1' http://tpr.org/post/indian-classical-music-meets-beat-box-exit-1 When you think of Indian classical music, you probably don't expect to hear beat box, or strains of jazz, and even rock. But that's exactly what Nistha Raj is all about. The violinist is mixing classical Hindustani music with modern sounds to bring it to a new generation of music lovers. Her debut album is titled <em>Exit 1. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 17:46:28 +0000 Tell Me More Staff 29209 at http://tpr.org Indian Classical Music Meets Beat Box In 'Exit 1' Austin Group Atash Brings The Sounds Of The World To Texas http://tpr.org/post/austin-group-atash-brings-sounds-world-texas <p><a href="http://atash.com/" target="_blank">Atash </a>is a multi-cultural band based in Austin, so for them, lodging wasn’t an issue at the jam-packed South By Southwest festival. The members are from Iran, India, West Guinea, Africa, Cuba, Mexico and the United States. We started out talking about the band members, and also got into the subject of Islam and music during our interview.</p><p><strong>Deirdre Saravia: "Mohammad, tell me about yourself, where do you come from?"</strong></p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:41:03 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 28613 at http://tpr.org Austin Group Atash Brings The Sounds Of The World To Texas Lo'Jo Celebrates 30 Years Of Peace And Music http://tpr.org/post/lojo-celebrates-30-years-peace-and-music <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The group called <a href="http://www.lojo.org/lojo.php" target="_blank">Lo’Jo </a>was started in 1982 in Angers, France. The founders, Denis Pean and Richard Bourreau, continue to remain actively engaged with Richard playing the violin and <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kora_(instrument)" target="_blank">kora </a>and Denis the singer and keyboardist.</span></p><p><strong>Deirdre Saravia: You live as a collective, right? Is that like hippies?</strong></p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 17:44:37 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 28474 at http://tpr.org Lo'Jo Celebrates 30 Years Of Peace And Music Uruguay's Daniel Drexler: "My Records Are My Diary" http://tpr.org/post/uruguays-daniel-drexler-my-records-are-my-diary <p></p><p>Daniel Drexler is Uruguayan artist whose fifth album, ‘<a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009Q54PEW/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=211189&amp;creative=373489&amp;creativeASIN=B009Q54PEW&amp;link_code=as3&amp;tag=texaspublicra-20" target="_blank">Mar Abierto</a>,’ is a hit in South America. He performed at this year’s South By Soutwest Music Festival as part of a showcase called the Sounds of Uruguay. Not only is he a musician, but he’s also a physician, specializing in the treatment of tinnitus.</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 14:58:08 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 28463 at http://tpr.org Uruguay's Daniel Drexler: "My Records Are My Diary" First Listen: Ana Tijoux, 'Vengo' http://tpr.org/post/first-listen-ana-tijoux-vengo In the '90s, Chile experienced an artistic wave as the children of political exiles returning after the fall of dictator Augusto Pinochet brought enormous changes. Of course, waves never come alone: They bring in shells and rocks and souvenirs from faraway lands. The returning children of exiles brought new cultural trinkets with them in the form of music, words and ideas they picked up as their parents roamed the earth, waiting to come back. That wave also brought in hip-hop, and Chile became a hot scene for the genre. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 03:53:35 +0000 editor 27959 at http://tpr.org First Listen: Ana Tijoux, 'Vengo' In Rio, A Universe Of Samba http://tpr.org/post/rio-universe-samba <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vn9XK1c91c</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK9hZVbeBFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFfwRYf3YzE</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 03:10:53 +0000 Tom Moon 27721 at http://tpr.org In Rio, A Universe Of Samba From Recife, Brazil, 3 Rhythms Get The Carnival Party Started http://tpr.org/post/recife-3-rhythms-get-carnival-party-started <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOjtXpl77_E</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 27534 at http://tpr.org From Recife, Brazil, 3 Rhythms Get The Carnival Party Started