Shereen Marisol Meraji http://tpr.org en Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest http://tpr.org/post/lending-circles-help-latinas-pay-bills-and-invest <em>As part of its Changing Lives of Women series, </em>Morning Edition<em> is exploring women and their relationship with money: saving, purchasing and investing for themselves and their families. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:05:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 29251 at http://tpr.org Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest Pizza Chain That Markets To Mexicans Says New Promotion Isn't Profane http://tpr.org/post/pizza-chain-markets-mexicans-says-new-promotion-isnt-profane <em><strong>EDITOR'S NOTE: Fair warning - this story is about and includes the use of a Spanish-language word that some consider a profanity. </strong></em><p>Pizza PatrĂ³n is a Dallas-based chain that's generated a lot of media buzz over the years for advertising aimed at its core customer base, Mexican immigrants. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 22:47:42 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 28336 at http://tpr.org Pizza Chain That Markets To Mexicans Says New Promotion Isn't Profane Latin Pride Swells For Mystery Model Behind Oscar Statuette http://tpr.org/post/latin-pride-swells-mystery-model-behind-oscar-statuette The 8-pound, 24-carat-gold-plated statuette that will be handed out at the Academy Awards Sunday night is said to be modeled after a real man.<p>That man's name is not Oscar.<p>It might be Emilio, Emilio "El Indio" Fernandez. He was a famous Mexican director and actor who used to live in Hollywood in the 1920s. His nickname, "The Indian," came from the Kickapoo side of his family.<p>Ask old folks in Mexico City about him, and they'll tell you they love his movies. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 21:37:23 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 27589 at http://tpr.org Latin Pride Swells For Mystery Model Behind Oscar Statuette Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do http://tpr.org/post/why-chaucer-said-ax-instead-ask-and-why-some-still-do <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0aB-f_pHfs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHZwOqLrF2M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7E-aoXLZGY</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 21:25:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 22940 at http://tpr.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do Arturo Sandoval: Free To Blow His Trumpet The Way He Wants http://tpr.org/post/arturo-sandoval-free-blow-his-trumpet-way-he-wants A former president, a media mogul and a Cuban jazz trumpeter are among the 16 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Wednesday. That Cuban jazz trumpeter, Arturo Sandoval, happened to be performing not too far away from NPR West, at The Broad Stage in Santa Monica, last Friday. So I went to pay him a visit during rehearsals.<p>A heads up: This is one of those stories that are truly an aural experience. The best way to take in Sandoval is to hear him: his wonderful accent, his exuberance, his command of his instrument. Wed, 20 Nov 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 22270 at http://tpr.org Arturo Sandoval: Free To Blow His Trumpet The Way He Wants An East L.A. Football Rivalry, Unchanged For 79 Years http://tpr.org/post/east-la-football-rivalry-unchanged-79-years An East Los Angeles rivalry has become the largest high school football game west of the Mississippi. The football teams of Garfield High School and Roosevelt High School will meet on the gridiron Friday night for the 79th year. The game is expected to draw 20,000 fans. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 21:06:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 21249 at http://tpr.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America http://tpr.org/post/whitest-historically-black-college-america It opened in the late 19th century as the Bluefield Colored Institute, created to educate the children of black coal miners in segregated West Virginia. Although it still receives the federal funding that comes with its designation as a historically black institution, today Bluefield State College is 90 percent white. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 07:08:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 20394 at http://tpr.org The Whitest Historically Black College In America LA Dodgers' Spark Yasiel Puig Is Lightning Rod For Criticism http://tpr.org/post/la-dodgers-spark-yasiel-puig-lightning-rod-criticism <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zDAbb6ttDw</p> Wed, 09 Oct 2013 03:15:14 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 19874 at http://tpr.org LA Dodgers' Spark Yasiel Puig Is Lightning Rod For Criticism 'The Muslims Are Coming!' To Middle America http://tpr.org/post/muslims-are-coming-americas-south Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>A group of Muslim comics went on tour through parts of Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, as well as Arizona. Their mission was to help Americans equate Islam with funny, rather than fundamentalist. And that is the topic of a new documentary called, "The Muslims Are Coming."<p>NPR's Shereen Marisol Meraji met up with the directors.<p>SHEREEN MARISOL MERAJI, BYLINE: Here's a quick taste of what happens when Muslim comics invade Middle America.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE, "THE MUSLIMS ARE COMING")<p>NEGIN FARSAD: I'm an Iranian-American Muslim female. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 08:12:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 18561 at http://tpr.org Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement http://tpr.org/post/summer-63-old-lessons-new-movement <em>All this summer, NPR is looking back to civil rights activism of 1963, marking the 50th anniversary of a number of events that changed our society. From the </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/05/188727790/fifty-years-after-medgar-evers-killing-the-scars-remain">assassination of civil rights leader Medgar Evers</a><em> in Mississippi to the March on Washington; NPR is remembering the past and examining how our society has changed. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 18:23:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 17060 at http://tpr.org Summer Of '63: Old Lessons For A New Movement