Johann Sebastian Bach http://tpr.org en 'The Biggest Jazz Riff Ever Written:' Jeremy Denk's 'Goldberg Variations' http://tpr.org/post/biggest-jazz-riff-ever-written-jeremy-denks-goldberg-variations In the classical music world right now, many eyes are focused on <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/148914270/jeremy-denk" target="_blank">Jeremy Denk</a>. Sun, 17 Nov 2013 14:13:00 +0000 editor 22083 at http://tpr.org 'The Biggest Jazz Riff Ever Written:' Jeremy Denk's 'Goldberg Variations' Bach Unwigged: The Man Behind The Music http://tpr.org/post/bach-unwigged-man-behind-music <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15031897/johann-sebastian-bach" target="_blank">Johann Sebastian Bach</a> has been a central figure in the life of British conductor <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15327825/john-eliot-gardiner" target="_blank">John Eliot Gardiner</a> since he was a youngster. On his way to bed, he couldn't help glancing up at the famous 18th-century portrait of Bach that hung in the first floor landing of the old mill house in Dorset, England where Gardiner was born. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 19:41:47 +0000 Tom Huizenga 20997 at http://tpr.org Bach Unwigged: The Man Behind The Music First Listen: Jeremy Denk, 'J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations' http://tpr.org/post/first-listen-jeremy-denk-js-bach-goldberg-variations <em>[Every year, the MacArthur Foundation gives out 24 "Genius Grants" — generous cash prizes for brilliant creators in any number of fields. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 02:54:07 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 18945 at http://tpr.org First Listen: Jeremy Denk, 'J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations' Filjak Goes Solo This Weekend At St. Mark's Episcopal http://tpr.org/post/filjak-goes-solo-weekend-st-marks-episcopal <p></p><p>Internationally-known pianist Martina Filjak is performing in San Antonio tomorrow at St. Mark's Episcopal Church.</p><p>San Antonians have seen Filjak before -- she has performed with the San Antonio symphony -- but now she's back and this time she's going solo.</p><p>"I'm going to perform a range of works that are encompassing some [Antonio] Soler, but also Bach and Liszt, but also in the second part of the concert some Schumann piano sonatas," she said.</p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 21:09:45 +0000 Jack Morgan 18052 at http://tpr.org Filjak Goes Solo This Weekend At St. Mark's Episcopal Korevaar Is Bach For More With Partitas On New Disc http://tpr.org/post/korevaar-bach-more-partitas-new-disc <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Pianist </span><a href="http://www.davidkorevaar.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">David Korevaar</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> balances an active performance career as a soloist and chamber musician with teaching at the University of Colorado-Boulder. His latest release includes the </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Six Partitas for Keyboard </em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">by Johann Sebastian Bach.</span></p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 22:04:21 +0000 John Clare 7818 at http://tpr.org Korevaar Is Bach For More With Partitas On New Disc Making A Pianistic Point At The SAIPC http://tpr.org/post/making-pianistic-point-saipc <p>I've seen contestants in piano competitions play some large and impressive works when trying to stand out from their other competitors. Big and difficult works like Liszt's <i>"b minor sonata" </i>or Ravel's <em>"</em><i>Gaspard de la Nuit" </i>are sure to get the judges attention, but there is also the fear of losing the audience.</p><p>It is not easy programming your first set at a competition. This week on <em>The Piano</em>, we visit more recordings from last October's San Antonio International Piano Competition.There are only two big and challenging works on the program.</p> Fri, 08 Feb 2013 18:52:02 +0000 Randy Anderson 6082 at http://tpr.org Making A Pianistic Point At The SAIPC A Tsunami Of Talent At The International Piano Competition http://tpr.org/post/tsunami-talent-international-piano-competition <p>A wave of great young pianists crashes into the Alamo City every three years to compete in the <a href="http://www.saipc.org/" target="_blank">San Antonio International Piano Competition</a>. Last October 11, aspiring artists arrived and prepared themselves to impress the judges at the usual venue - the Ruth Taylor recital hall. Luckily for all of us it was all recorded by John Coker.</p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 18:09:27 +0000 Randy Anderson 4960 at http://tpr.org A Tsunami Of Talent At The International Piano Competition A Holiday Special, J.S. Bach's 'St. Matthew Passion' http://tpr.org/post/holiday-special-js-bachs-st-matthew-passion <p></p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 18:42:09 +0000 Ron Moore 2105 at http://tpr.org A Holiday Special, J.S. Bach's 'St. Matthew Passion'