Science & Technology http://tpr.org en Pop Quiz: 20 Percent Chance Of Rain. Do You Need An Umbrella? http://tpr.org/post/pop-quiz-20-percent-chance-rain-do-you-need-umbrella This week, <em>All Things Considered</em> is exploring <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/333708682/risk-and-reason" target="_blank">how people interpret probability</a>. What does it mean to us, for example, when a doctor says an operation has a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/07/21/332074963/what-the-odds-fail-to-capture-when-a-health-crisis-hits" target="_blank">70 percent chance of success?</a><p>One of the most common encounters with percent probabilities has to do with weather. Take a moment to consider the question below. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:39:00 +0000 NPR Staff 35519 at http://tpr.org Pop Quiz: 20 Percent Chance Of Rain. Do You Need An Umbrella? 9/11 Commission Issues An Update On Anniversary Of Report http://tpr.org/post/911-commission-issues-update-anniversary-report Ten years after its landmark report on terrorism, the 9/11 Commission has released an update in which it notes continued problems. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 35499 at http://tpr.org Thousands Of Migrating Birds Take Their Layover In A Texas Parking Lot http://tpr.org/post/thousands-migrating-birds-take-their-layover-texas-parking-lot For one month every summer, hundreds of thousands of purple martins stop by an abandoned shopping mall parking lot in Austin, Texas, on their way to the Amazon Basin. Reporter Luke Quinton visited this year's roosting and offers a glimpse of the phenomenon. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:14:00 +0000 Luke Quinton 35500 at http://tpr.org Don't Pop That Bubble Wrap! Scientists Turn Trash Into Test Tubes http://tpr.org/post/dont-pop-bubble-wrap-scientists-turn-trash-test-tubes Hate to burst your bubble, glass lab gear. But plastic bubble wrap also works pretty well at running science experiments.<p>Scientists at Harvard University have figured out a way to use these petite pouches as an inexpensive alternate to glass test tubes and culture dishes. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:56:00 +0000 editor 35495 at http://tpr.org Don't Pop That Bubble Wrap! Scientists Turn Trash Into Test Tubes What's Better Than A Total Eclipse Of The Sun? Check This http://tpr.org/post/whats-better-total-eclipse-sun-check <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyZoD7BRTtg</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:55:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 35488 at http://tpr.org What's Better Than A Total Eclipse Of The Sun? Check This 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers http://tpr.org/post/audience-measurement-how-networks-and-critics-are-wrestling-numbers If the Television Critics Association press tour of 2014, wrapping up Tuesday and Wednesday with presentations from PBS, has had a catchphrase, it's "audience measurement."<p>Critics heard an extended presentation from Nielsen on the very first day of tour about the company's plans to begin measuring viewership on mobile devices and, more generally, about its scramble to keep up – catch up, really – with the way television works now. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Linda Holmes 35481 at http://tpr.org 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers Tweeting From A Conflict Zone: Does It Help Or Hurt News Reporting? http://tpr.org/post/tweeting-conflict-zone-does-it-help-or-hurt-news-reporting Transcript <p>MICHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is TELL ME MORE from NPR News. I'm Michel Martin. We begin today with a look at how social media is affecting the way we learn about war. If you haven't seen for yourself how Twitter, YouTube and Facebook have revolutionized the way the media does its job, you cannot miss it now. We're also seeing more information, photos and videos than ever from activists, aid workers and even what we might call ordinary people who happen to be on the frontlines of conflict. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:07:00 +0000 editor 35482 at http://tpr.org Rosetta Spacecraft Readies For Rendezvous With Comet http://tpr.org/post/rosetta-spacecraft-readies-rendezvous-comet Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Next month, the European Space Agency's Rosetta space probe will catch up with a comet, which it has been chasing across the solar system for a decade. Once there, the Rosetta probe will take pictures, make measurements and drop a probe down to the comet's surface. Last January, NPR science correspondent Joe Palca reported that for more than two years the spacecraft had shut off most of its instruments, including the radio for communicating with Earth, in order to save energy. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Joe Palca 35453 at http://tpr.org Son's Mental Illness Prompts Billionaire's Big Donation To Psychiatric Research http://tpr.org/post/sons-mental-illness-prompts-billionaires-big-donation-psychiatric-research Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>A billionaire businessman today is making the largest ever donation toward psychiatric research. Ted Stanley is giving $650 million to the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard. The money will fund efforts to find and treat the genetic underpinnings of mental illness. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 35454 at http://tpr.org Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead? http://tpr.org/post/net-neutrality-shall-i-compare-thee-highway-showerhead <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCUg5A-ZAw0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou9S3wrHg8c</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:35:00 +0000 NPR Staff 35451 at http://tpr.org Net Neutrality, Shall I Compare Thee To A Highway? A Showerhead?