France http://tpr.org en Lo'Jo Celebrates 30 Years Of Peace And Music http://tpr.org/post/lojo-celebrates-30-years-peace-and-music <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The group called <a href="http://www.lojo.org/lojo.php" target="_blank">Lo’Jo </a>was started in 1982 in Angers, France. The founders, Denis Pean and Richard Bourreau, continue to remain actively engaged with Richard playing the violin and <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kora_(instrument)" target="_blank">kora </a>and Denis the singer and keyboardist.</span></p><p><strong>Deirdre Saravia: You live as a collective, right? Is that like hippies?</strong></p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 17:44:37 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 28474 at http://tpr.org Lo'Jo Celebrates 30 Years Of Peace And Music International Friendship Brings French Family Restaurant To San Antonio http://tpr.org/post/international-friendship-brings-french-family-restaurant-san-antonio <p>Among the historic buildings and shuffle of people and traffic on Broadway near downtown is a modern, chic sign that reads "Saveurs 209." The word is French and the people inside argue that the taste of their food will satisfy the pickiest of food critics.</p><p>"Especially in Paris, people are very picky," said restaurateur Sylvain Nykiel. "But in Paris, people know really really food. They are foodies."</p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 14:40:51 +0000 Ryan Loyd 25445 at http://tpr.org International Friendship Brings French Family Restaurant To San Antonio Zaz Dazzles On "Recto Verso" http://tpr.org/post/zaz-dazzles-recto-verso <p>I don’t know where I heard about <a href="http://www.zazofficial.com/en" target="_blank">Zaz</a>, but I’m so happy that I did.</p><p>This French chanteuse is incredible. Her voice is powerful and exuberant, and she obviously enjoys belting out a variety of songs on her latest release, “<a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CMKPNBC/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=211189&amp;creative=373489&amp;creativeASIN=B00CMKPNBC&amp;link_code=as3&amp;tag=texaspublicra-20" target="_blank">Recto Verso</a>.”</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 21:33:27 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 16761 at http://tpr.org Zaz Dazzles On "Recto Verso" World Celebrations: Pigs, Pucks, and Horses http://tpr.org/post/world-celebrations-pigs-pucks-and-horses <p>Each week on World Music (Saturday nights from 8-10 on KSTX 89.1 FM), I take a look at celebrations happening around the world. This week, a small French town squeals like a pig, a furious horse race runs in Italy, and an Irish town celebrates its 400th birthday.</p><p><strong>LA POURCAILHADE</strong></p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 04:39:53 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 16327 at http://tpr.org World Celebrations: Pigs, Pucks, and Horses Carla Bruni's "Little French Songs" http://tpr.org/post/carla-brunis-little-french-songs <p></p><p>"I got used to notoriety early," said Carla Bruni<a href="http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/rockandpopfeatures/9975133/Carla-Bruni-interview-I-got-used-to-notoriety-early.html" target="_blank"> in an interview</a> with the British newspaper, The Telegraph.&nbsp;So there's nothing holding her back as she sings little songs about her former life, and romantic entanglement with a very famous pop star of the sixties.</p> Wed, 01 May 2013 19:22:39 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 10643 at http://tpr.org Carla Bruni's "Little French Songs" Paris Combo: Building A Relationship With Listeners On "5" http://tpr.org/post/paris-combo-building-relationship-listeners-5 <p></p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 21:06:24 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 9050 at http://tpr.org Paris Combo: Building A Relationship With Listeners On "5"