Keystone XL Pipeline http://tpr.org en The Source: Derailments Spike Along With Oil Shipments http://tpr.org/post/source-derailments-spike-along-oil-shipments <p>Transporting crude oil from areas booming with the hydraulic fracturing revolution relies heavily on railroads. Busier railroads means more derailments and more derailments with trains loaded with old cars filled with oil means more tragedies.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:57:39 +0000 Paul Flahive 34320 at http://tpr.org The Source: Derailments Spike Along With Oil Shipments Even If Keystone Pipeline Rejected, Oil May Still Cross Neb. By Rail http://tpr.org/post/if-keystone-xl-pipeline-rejected-trains-will-transfer-oil The proposed Keystone XL pipeline has generated controversy, especially in Nebraska, where opposition to transporting crude from the oil sands of Canada has delayed a national decision on the project. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 10:20:00 +0000 editor 32698 at http://tpr.org Political Rhetoric Bogs Down Future Of Keystone XL Pipeline http://tpr.org/post/political-rhetoric-bogs-down-future-keystone-xl-pipeline Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. Last month the Obama administration put off a decision on whether to approve the Keystone XL pipeline. The project has been enormously controversial. It would carry crude oil from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. This morning we examine what's at stake for the oil industry and for energy production. Fri, 23 May 2014 10:59:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 32207 at http://tpr.org Keystone Pipeline Dispute Muddles The Path Forward On Energy Bill http://tpr.org/post/keystone-pipeline-dispute-muddles-path-forward-energy-bill Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The fight over the Keystone XL oil pipeline has stalled progress on an unrelated bill in the U.S. Senate. Republicans want to attach a series of amendments, including approval for the pipeline to a bill about energy efficiency. But Democratic leader Harry Reid says the Keystone vote ought to be separate. And as NPR's Jeff Brady reports, the disagreement leaves the energy efficiency bill in limbo.<p>JEFF BRADY, BYLINE: It's been seven years since the last big energy bill passed through Congress and became law. Thu, 08 May 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 31381 at http://tpr.org Senate May Bypass White House And Approve Keystone XL Pipeline http://tpr.org/post/senate-may-bypass-white-house-and-approve-keystone-xl-pipeline The Senate is expected to vote soon on the controversial pipeline. Supporters introduced the bill after the White House put its approval process on hold indefinitely because of a legal dispute. Mon, 05 May 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 31158 at http://tpr.org Pipeline Put Off, As Keystone Review Is Indefinitely Extended http://tpr.org/post/pipeline-put-keystone-review-indefinitely-extended The Keystone XL pipeline remains a major point of contention within the Democratic Party, as green voters pull President Obama one direction and pro-energy senators and labor unions pull the other. It looks as though the "comment period" for the project will be extended, delaying a decision past the November elections. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 30296 at http://tpr.org Steyer: Keystone XL Pipeline Would Get Canada Better Oil Price http://tpr.org/post/steyer-keystone-xl-pipeline-would-get-canada-better-oil-price David Greene talks to billionaire financier and liberal activist Tom Steyer about his position on the Keystone XL oil pipeline. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 10:05:00 +0000 editor 27221 at http://tpr.org Scientist Switches Position, Now Supports Keystone XL Pipeline http://tpr.org/post/scientist-switches-position-now-supports-keystone-xl-pipeline Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Good morning.<p>Environmental groups have poured a lot of money and energy into stopping the Keystone XL pipeline. The Obama administration has been in a long vetting process over whether to approve this project. The pipeline would carry carbon-rich oil several thousand miles from the tar sand fields of Canada South. Many environmentalists see this fight as an important test of whether the U.S. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 10:31:00 +0000 editor 27084 at http://tpr.org Keystone Greens See Pipeline As Crucial Test For Obama http://tpr.org/post/keystone-greens-see-pipeline-crucial-test-obama Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>The controversial Keystone XL Pipeline project has another obstacle. Yesterday, a Nebraska judge rejected a move by that state's governor to route the pipeline through his state. The project has already been held up for years while the Obama administration tries to decide whether the pipeline is in the U.S. national interest. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:46:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27069 at http://tpr.org Keystone XL Pipeline Report Creates Political Headache For Obama http://tpr.org/post/keystone-xl-pipeline-report-creates-political-headache-obama Any expectation that a <a href="http://www.keystonepipeline-xl.state.gov/">new State Department report</a> would clarify the Keystone XL pipeline issue went up in smoke in recent days.<p>In the aftermath of a conclusion that downplayed the oil pipeline's potential effects on climate change, the issue has gotten even more politically complicated for the Obama White House. Environmentalists are ramping up their opposition to the proposed 1,179-mile pipeline, while Republicans have intensified their push for approval. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 22:28:08 +0000 Liz Halloran 26132 at http://tpr.org Keystone XL Pipeline Report Creates Political Headache For Obama