football http://tpr.org en Texas Sportscaster's Commentary On Gay Athletes Goes Viral http://tpr.org/post/texas-sportscasters-commentary-gay-athletes-goes-viral <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Olc5C4SXAYM">[Youtube]</a><p>After former Missouri Tigers defensive lineman Michael Sam, 24, on Sunday revealed that he was gay, some questioned whether his prospects in the NFL would be hurt by the revelation.<p>Longtime Texas sportscaster <strong>Dale Hansen</strong> is hoping that&#8217;s not the case. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:02:51 +0000 editor 26760 at http://tpr.org Texas Sportscaster's Commentary On Gay Athletes Goes Viral Opera Star Renee Fleming Brings Grace To The Super Bowl http://tpr.org/post/opera-star-renee-fleming-brings-grace-super-bowl Who knows who'll win the Super Bowl tomorrow, but history will be made before the coin toss.<p>Renee Fleming will sing the national anthem at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey. Sat, 01 Feb 2014 15:03:00 +0000 Scott Simon 26026 at http://tpr.org Opera Star Renee Fleming Brings Grace To The Super Bowl A Supersilly Super Bowl 'What If ... ?' http://tpr.org/post/supersilly-super-bowl-what-if <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HW4J-RiCZ2Q</p> Sat, 18 Jan 2014 13:07:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 25300 at http://tpr.org A Supersilly Super Bowl 'What If ... ?' Countdown To The Super Bowl http://tpr.org/post/countdown-superbowl Transcript <p>LYNN NEARY, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Lynn Neary. Time now for sports.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>NEARY: And then there were four. Tomorrow is the Sunday before the Sunday before the Super Bowl. And that means New England takes on Denver and San Francisco goes up against Seattle to see who's headed to the big game. NPR's Tom Goldman, who's caught in the middle of that San Fran-Seattle crossfire, joins us on the line from Portland. Good morning, Tom.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: I'm ducking here. Sat, 18 Jan 2014 13:01:00 +0000 editor 25302 at http://tpr.org Why The Race Of The New Football Coach At University Of Texas Matters http://tpr.org/post/why-race-new-football-coach-university-texas-matters The Texas Longhorn football team is trying to regroup after several disappointing seasons under veteran coach Mack Brown.<p>The University of Texas hired Charlie Strong last week to usher in a new era in Austin. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 04:29:06 +0000 Wade Goodwyn 25095 at http://tpr.org Why The Race Of The New Football Coach At University Of Texas Matters Texas Hires Coach Charlie Strong, And History Is Close At Hand http://tpr.org/post/texas-hires-coach-charlie-strong-and-history-close-hand The University of Texas introduced Charlie Strong as the school's new head football coach Monday, hoping to usher in a new winning era by hiring a man known for strong recruiting and stubborn defenses.<p>As he moves from Louisville to Austin, Strong becomes the first black coach of a men's team at Texas. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 20:27:07 +0000 Bill Chappell 24700 at http://tpr.org Texas Hires Coach Charlie Strong, And History Is Close At Hand