DVD http://tpr.org en A Documentary That's "Partly Fiction" http://tpr.org/post/documentary-thats-partly-fiction <p></p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 03:42:44 +0000 Nathan Cone 32689 at http://tpr.org A Documentary That's "Partly Fiction" Two Italys Take A Road Trip In 'Il Sorpasso' http://tpr.org/post/two-italys-take-road-trip-il-sorpasso If the road movie has a home, it's surely the United States. After all, the settling of America was itself a kind of humongous road picture — all those wagons rolling across the new continent's spectacular vastness. And with our ceaseless love of movement, we became the first people to be transported — in every sense — by the automobile. Thu, 08 May 2014 18:27:39 +0000 John Powers 31367 at http://tpr.org Two Italys Take A Road Trip In 'Il Sorpasso' 'Philomena' DVD Brings Real Philomena To New Audiences http://tpr.org/post/philomena-dvd-brings-real-philomena-new-audiences Today, the DVD of the Oscar-nominated film &#8220;Philomena&#8221; is being released. One of the special features contained on the DVD is an interview with the real Philomena Lee. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 30099 at http://tpr.org Is The DVD Box Set Dead? Yes ... And No. http://tpr.org/post/dvd-box-set-dead-yes-and-no Are we witnessing the twilight of DVD and Blu-ray?<p>Kinda-sorta. With the emergence of various digital distributions systems — streaming and downloading through your laptop, your cable system, your game console — it's easy to see how these discs will be the next physical media formats to fade away. DVD and Blu-ray could well go the way of CDs and vinyl, becoming a niche boutique market for collectors.<p>It's not happening quite yet. Plenty of people still prefer the disc to the download. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 16:49:12 +0000 Glenn McDonald 24346 at http://tpr.org Is The DVD Box Set Dead? Yes ... And No. "City Lights" Shines On Blu-ray http://tpr.org/post/city-lights-shines-blu-ray <p></p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 06:10:21 +0000 Nathan Cone 24041 at http://tpr.org "City Lights" Shines On Blu-ray Great New DVD Box Sets: Blasts From The Past And 'Breaking Bad' http://tpr.org/post/2013s-best-dvd-box-sets-blasts-past-and-breaking-bad Here's a short list of some of the most exciting recent TV offerings on DVD. These are sets you can still order and receive in time for the holidays — and regardless, they're perfect to dive into over the vacation period, enjoying an episode or two a night.<p>The best — and biggest, and most recent — of the bunch is <em>Breaking Bad: The Complete Series. </em>Vince Gilligan's AMC drama, starring Bryan Cranston as a high school teacher turned criminal mastermind, arguably is the best TV series ever made — so getting or giving it in one gulp is about as good as it gets. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 19:07:00 +0000 David Bianculli 24020 at http://tpr.org Great New DVD Box Sets: Blasts From The Past And 'Breaking Bad' The Spirituality Of "The Exorcist" http://tpr.org/post/spirituality-exorcist <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">“The mystery of faith” is a phrase heard every week by millions of Catholics at Mass, just before the sacrament of Holy Communion. The words describe something indescribable, really. There are some teachings of the Church that are above reason, hence the word “mystery.”</span></p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 15:18:33 +0000 Nathan Cone 19825 at http://tpr.org The Spirituality Of "The Exorcist" "Shane" Comes Back, On Blu-ray http://tpr.org/post/shane-comes-back-blu-ray <p></p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 03:06:10 +0000 Nathan Cone 16699 at http://tpr.org "Shane" Comes Back, On Blu-ray Blu-ray Review: Bette Davis In The 1930s http://tpr.org/post/blu-ray-review-bette-davis-1930s <p></p><p style="margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica">&nbsp;</p><p style="margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica"><span style="letter-spacing: 0.0px">Long, long before it was a bumpy night for the guests of Margo Channing (“All About Eve”), and even before “Now, Voyager,” Bette Davis appeared in dozens of films as a rising actress. Two of her early films, “Hell’s House” and “Of Human Bondage,” are newly available on Blu-ray from Kino Lorber, in what is touted as an “archival restoration.”</span></p> Sat, 06 Jul 2013 03:38:32 +0000 Nathan Cone 14314 at http://tpr.org Blu-ray Review: Bette Davis In The 1930s On The Morality Of "On The Waterfront" http://tpr.org/post/morality-waterfront <p></p> Tue, 19 Feb 2013 19:58:23 +0000 Nathan Cone 6647 at http://tpr.org On The Morality Of "On The Waterfront"