soundtracks http://tpr.org en In Perfect Movie Music, Filling Space Is An Art http://tpr.org/post/perfect-movie-music-filling-space-art <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpOdAHwRnXY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOpXt30kZCw</p> Sun, 01 Jun 2014 15:05:32 +0000 NPR Staff 32678 at http://tpr.org In Perfect Movie Music, Filling Space Is An Art A Few Words With Ennio Morricone http://tpr.org/post/few-words-ennio-morricone Today at the Cannes Film Festival, attendees marked the 50th anniversary of the spaghetti western at a special screening of <em>A Fistful of Dollars</em>, the Sergio Leone classic that kick-started the genre. Sun, 25 May 2014 21:42:38 +0000 NPR Staff 32323 at http://tpr.org A Few Words With Ennio Morricone Composer Elliot Goldenthal's New Work In An Odd Key http://tpr.org/post/composer-elliot-goldenthals-new-work-odd-key Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>If you're just joining us, it's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR West. I'm Arun Rath. What connects the films "Drugstore Cowboy," "Pet Cemetery," "Batman Forever" and "Frida?" You can skip Kevin Bacon and connect them all with just one name, composer Elliot Goldenthal.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RATH: Here he's evoking a jittery sense of dread in "Alien 3." Goldenthal is like a wizard when it comes to creating distinct musical atmospheres. Sun, 04 May 2014 20:53:00 +0000 editor 31146 at http://tpr.org Klezmer Jazz Goes To The Movies On "The Big Picture" http://tpr.org/post/klezmer-jazz-goes-movies-big-picture <p></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 01:44:46 +0000 Nathan Cone 31025 at http://tpr.org Klezmer Jazz Goes To The Movies On "The Big Picture" And The Oscar Goes To ... Mr. 'Star Wars' Or Arcade Fire? http://tpr.org/post/and-oscar-goes-mr-star-wars-or-arcade-fire <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zcYkuIzzy8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_0hTBNQhSM</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 19:23:46 +0000 Mark Mobley 27462 at http://tpr.org And The Oscar Goes To ... Mr. 'Star Wars' Or Arcade Fire? 'Philomena' And The Power Of A Quiet Film Score http://tpr.org/post/philomena-and-power-quiet-film-score In the 1950s, Philomena Lee was a naive Irish teenager who got pregnant, gave birth in a convent, and was forced by the nuns to sign away her parental rights. The 2013 film <em>Philomena</em> is based on what happened five decades later, when Lee went looking for her son with the help of a journalist. Sat, 08 Feb 2014 23:38:17 +0000 editor 26437 at http://tpr.org 'Philomena' And The Power Of A Quiet Film Score The Music You Never Heard From "Breakfast At Tiffany's" http://tpr.org/post/music-you-never-heard-breakfast-tiffanys <p></p><p style="margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica"><span style="letter-spacing: 0.0px">A staple of easy listening radio throughout the latter half of the 20th century, Henry Mancini’s gifted songwriting abilities often overshadowed the films he scored. Despite winning an Oscar for his score for “Breakfast At Tiffany’s” (in addition to another Oscar he shared with Johnny Mercer for “Moon River” from the same film), the complete score for the picture has gone largely unheard on compact disc until now.</span></p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 04:46:39 +0000 Nathan Cone 25158 at http://tpr.org The Music You Never Heard From "Breakfast At Tiffany's" Making Music For 'The Hobbit' http://tpr.org/post/making-music-hobbit Composer <strong>Howard Shore</strong> has written dozens of film scores. He&#8217;s worked with directors Jonathan Demme and Martin Scorcese, and he&#8217;s a frequent collaborator with David Cronenberg. But he&#8217;s probably best known for his work with Peter Jackson.<p>Shore wrote the scores for all three &#8220;Lord of the Rings&#8221; movies, as well as the two &#8220;Hobbit&#8221; films, including &#8220;The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug,&#8221; which opens today. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 21:37:32 +0000 editor 23539 at http://tpr.org Making Music For 'The Hobbit' '12 Years A Slave' Is This Year's Best Film About Music http://tpr.org/post/12-years-slave-years-best-film-about-music <em>12 Years a Slave </em>is the most compelling film about music to be released this year, maybe this century. It's so many other things, too, as others have noted: a corrective to the weird cocktail of piety and cartoonishness that Hollywood usually supplies when depicting slavery; a gorgeous art film and an actor's hellish paradise; a cultural highlight of the Obama administration. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 20:16:15 +0000 Ann Powers 21927 at http://tpr.org '12 Years A Slave' Is This Year's Best Film About Music First Listen: Soundtrack, 'Inside Llewyn Davis' http://tpr.org/post/first-listen-soundtrack-inside-llewyn-davis Among many other accomplishments, filmmakers Joel and Ethan Coen helped change the direction of contemporary music with the soundtrack to their 2000 film <em>O Brother, Where Art Thou?</em> Winner of an Album Of The Year Grammy, among other honors, the collection — produced and compiled by T-Bone Burnett — sold about eight million copies and helped launch a resurgence in tradition-minded roots and bluegrass music that continues to this day. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 14:49:21 +0000 Stephen Thompson 21319 at http://tpr.org First Listen: Soundtrack, 'Inside Llewyn Davis'