Mexico http://tpr.org en Strong Quake Rattles Mexico, But No Injuries Reported http://tpr.org/post/strong-quake-rattles-mexico-no-injuries-reported A powerful magnitude 7.2 earthquake that struck near Mexico's resort town of Acapulco could be felt as far away as Mexico City, but there were no immediate reports of injuries or major damage.<p>The U.S. Geological Survey says the epicenter of Friday's quake was located about 80 miles northwest of Acapulco at a depth of about 15 miles. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 30281 at http://tpr.org Strong Quake Rattles Mexico, But No Injuries Reported Rodrigo y Gabriela, 'The Russian Messenger' http://tpr.org/post/rodrigo-y-gabriela-russian-messenger <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dN91dhERgA</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 13:20:39 +0000 Robin Hilton 30134 at http://tpr.org Rodrigo y Gabriela, 'The Russian Messenger' On The Mend, But Wounds Of Violence Still Scar Juarez http://tpr.org/post/mend-wounds-violence-still-scar-juarez We had just finished our time in Juarez, Mexico, when we had dinner with some distant relations on the U.S. side of the border. "You," one of my relatives said, "are the first Juarez survivors we've seen in some time."<p>He said this even though he lives within sight of Juarez, in El Paso, just across the Rio Grande. Many people on the U.S. side long ago stopped visiting their Mexican sister city, and not without reason: Juarez was the world's most violent city as recently as 2010. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Steve Inskeep 28780 at http://tpr.org On The Mend, But Wounds Of Violence Still Scar Juarez 1994 Colosio Assasination Was Start Of Mexico's Catastrophic Year http://tpr.org/post/1994-colosio-assasination-was-start-mexicos-catastrophic-year In late March of 1994, Mexico's leading presidential candidate was assassinated by a gunman. Conspiracy theories about his death still abound. Sun, 23 Mar 2014 11:41:00 +0000 editor 28751 at http://tpr.org Latin Pride Swells For Mystery Model Behind Oscar Statuette http://tpr.org/post/latin-pride-swells-mystery-model-behind-oscar-statuette The 8-pound, 24-carat-gold-plated statuette that will be handed out at the Academy Awards Sunday night is said to be modeled after a real man.<p>That man's name is not Oscar.<p>It might be Emilio, Emilio "El Indio" Fernandez. He was a famous Mexican director and actor who used to live in Hollywood in the 1920s. His nickname, "The Indian," came from the Kickapoo side of his family.<p>Ask old folks in Mexico City about him, and they'll tell you they love his movies. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 21:37:23 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 27589 at http://tpr.org Latin Pride Swells For Mystery Model Behind Oscar Statuette Notorious Mexican Drug Trafficker Arrested http://tpr.org/post/notorious-mexican-drug-trafficker-arrested Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR West. I'm Arun Rath.<p>Mexican officials have captured that country's number one drug trafficker, Joaquin Guzman, also known as El Chapo. The announcement was made this afternoon by Mexico's attorney general who says the head of the feared Sinaloa Cartel was arrested by special marine forces without a single shot being fired.<p>We're joined now by NPR's Carrie Kahn in Mexico City. Carrie, they've been looking for Guzman for 13 years. How did they capture him?<p>CARRIE KAHN, BYLINE: It was quite interesting. Sat, 22 Feb 2014 22:00:00 +0000 editor 27185 at http://tpr.org Obama's Trade Trip To Mexico Focusing On Economics & Investment http://tpr.org/post/obamas-trade-trip-mexico-focusing-economics-investment <p>President Barack Obama is in Mexico today for a day of trade talks with the other <span style="line-height: 1.5;">North American Free Trade Agreement </span> partner nations. But while the expectations are low for the summit, the stakes remain ever high.</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:22:55 +0000 David Martin Davies 26964 at http://tpr.org People In ACA 'Affordability Gap' Risk Future In Medical Debt http://tpr.org/post/people-aca-affordability-gap-risk-future-medical-debt <p><strong>Fronteras</strong>: The Affordable Care Act aims to increase access to healthcare, but for those in the so-called "affordability gap" insurance may still be out of reach. We speak to Politico about a program just launched to provide scholarships for undocumented student immigrants. Also, it was 150 years ago that Mexico was invaded by the French and ruled by Maximilian. It was a time of betrayals, brutality and war, but who was Maximilian?</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 20:40:18 +0000 Crystal Chavez 26384 at http://tpr.org People In ACA 'Affordability Gap' Risk Future In Medical Debt 'Mariachi Olympic Prince' Takes Glamour To Sochi Ski Slopes http://tpr.org/post/mariachi-olympic-prince-takes-glamour-sochi-ski-slopes In Sochi, Russia, Hubertus Von Hohenlohe will compete in his sixth Winter Olympics. The 55-year-old downhill skier and German prince won't be skiing under the flag of his royal heritage, however. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Carrie Kahn 25887 at http://tpr.org 'Mariachi Olympic Prince' Takes Glamour To Sochi Ski Slopes Mexican National Executed For Texas Cop's Murder http://tpr.org/post/mexican-national-executed-texas-cops-murder Texas has executed a Mexican national for killing a Houston police officer in 1994. Mexico opposes the death penalty and the execution revived a long-running diplomatic row between the United States and Mexico. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 10:27:00 +0000 editor 25508 at http://tpr.org