winter weather http://tpr.org en Not Spring Yet: Wicked Winter Storm To Pound Midwest, New York http://tpr.org/post/not-spring-yet-wicked-winter-storm-pound-midwest-new-york That beautiful spring-like day those of you in the Midwest and Northeast have been experiencing today after a brutal winter?<p>It's not going to last. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 28098 at http://tpr.org Not Spring Yet: Wicked Winter Storm To Pound Midwest, New York What A Blast: As Snow Ends, Wicked Cold Moves In http://tpr.org/post/what-blast-wicked-winter-storm-spreads-across-nation <strong>Update at 6:11 p.m. ET. Now The Cold: </strong><p>Most of the snow is now off shore. What comes next is bitter — perhaps historic — cold for parts of the Midwest and East that's more reminiscent of January, than the beginning of meteorological spring. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 27609 at http://tpr.org What A Blast: As Snow Ends, Wicked Cold Moves In Get Ready For Yet Another Winter Storm http://tpr.org/post/get-ready-yet-another-winter-storm <strong>This post was updated at 4:30 p.m. ET.</strong><p>It already has an ominous-sounding name: Winter Storm Titan. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 16:52:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 27585 at http://tpr.org Get Ready For Yet Another Winter Storm 'Mind-Boggling,' Historic Ice Storm Headed For Deep South http://tpr.org/post/mind-boggling-historic-ice-storm-headed-deep-south This is not our language. It comes from the forecasters at the National Weather Service, who we have to hope do not say things such as this unless they really mean it:<p><a href="http://www.wpc.ncep.noaa.gov/discussions/hpcdiscussions.php?disc=qpfhsd" target="_blank">"Mind-boggling if not historical" ice accumulations</a> are expected Wednesday and Thursday across a wide swath of the Deep South that includes Atlanta, other parts of Georgia, Columbia, S.C., and up to Raleigh/Durham, N.C. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 15:25:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 26534 at http://tpr.org 'Mind-Boggling,' Historic Ice Storm Headed For Deep South SA Schools Open, Ice Closes Some Roads http://tpr.org/post/sa-schools-open-ice-closes-some-roads <p>San Antonio is under a winter weather advisory until 11 a.m. for a mix of ice, sleet and snow.</p><p>There are several accidents on the roadways this morning. Loop 1604 at I-10 in NW SA is closed due to several minor crashes (TXDOT did not specify in what direction).</p><p><strong>School Delays:</strong></p><p>All Comal ISD campuses will start two hours later than normal today. New Braunfels&nbsp;ISD is also on a two-hour delayed start.</p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:54:53 +0000 Crystal Chavez 26286 at http://tpr.org SA Schools Open, Ice Closes Some Roads Deep South, Meet Deep Freeze http://tpr.org/post/deep-south-meet-deep-freeze Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>The Deep South is in a deep freeze. Snow, sleet and freezing rain have gripped a region more accustomed to sun and surf. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Debbie Elliott 25811 at http://tpr.org Polar Vortex Blamed For Dangerously Cold Weather http://tpr.org/post/polar-vortex-blamed-dangerously-cold-weather Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>All right. Here are the voices of some meteorologists around the country. This was in Indianapolis.<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: This is the coldest wind chill I've ever reported in on the Weather Channel. It's 41 below zero. The air temperature is 13. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 10:02:00 +0000 editor 24661 at http://tpr.org Nation Turns Blue As Temperatures Continue To Plunge http://tpr.org/post/nations-turning-blue-temperatures-continue-plunge One weather map tells the story.<p>Check out the <a href="http://graphical.weather.gov/" target="_blank">National Weather Service's map of the Lower 48 for Monday night</a>. If you need to know just how much of the nation's going to be freezing (or well below!), it offers a bone-chilling picture. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 13:53:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 24614 at http://tpr.org Nation Turns Blue As Temperatures Continue To Plunge This Week's Massive Winter Storm, Seen From Space http://tpr.org/post/weeks-massive-winter-storm-seen-space NASA caught our eye earlier today when the space agency <a href="https://twitter.com/NASA_GoddardPix/status/419114992395628544/photo/1">tweeted a composite image</a> of the huge winter storm that has covered parts of the Midwest and Eastern U.S. with a deep blanket of snow.<p>The photos that make up the image were taken Thursday, NASA says, during several passes of its Aqua satellite. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 24546 at http://tpr.org This Week's Massive Winter Storm, Seen From Space 100 Million People In Path Of 2014's First Wintry Blast http://tpr.org/post/100-million-people-path-2014s-first-wintry-blast <strong>Updated 11:30 p.m. ET</strong><p>The Associated Press <a href="http://www.ajc.com/news/ap/transportation/2014s-first-big-storm-bears-down-on-northeast-us/ncZqL/" target="_blank">reports</a>: "The National Weather Service said 21 inches of snow had fallen in Boxford, just north of Boston, by Thursday night, while other parts of the state had 17 or 18 inches. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 12:56:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 24438 at http://tpr.org 100 Million People In Path Of 2014's First Wintry Blast