guns http://tpr.org en Values Collide In Texas Over 'Open Carry' Protests http://tpr.org/post/values-collide-texas-over-open-carry-protests Transcript <p>MICHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is TELL ME MORE from NPR News. I'm Michel Martin. Today, we want to spend some time talking about guns, which most people know have played a very big role in the life and development of this country, and still do. In a few minutes, we'll talk about an aspect of the civil rights movement that you might not have heard. Author Charles E. Cobb Jr. explains why he says guns made the civil rights movement possible. He has a new book about that. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 32920 at http://tpr.org 'Open Carry' Gun Laws Spark Texas Backlash http://tpr.org/post/open-carry-gun-laws-spark-texas-backlash Last week, not long after a lone gunman's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/05/24/315425094/shooting-near-uc-santa-barbara-leaves-3-dead">rampage in California</a>, Texas witnessed an unnerving series of demonstrations.<p>Groups of young men, armed with tactical long rifles slung across their backs, began showing up at restaurants like Chili's and Chipotle, Sonic and Jack in the Box, to mention a few, as part of their response to another anguished gun control conversation.<p>The fast-food-while-heavily-armed political protests — "You want some chili fries with your AK-47?" — di Thu, 05 Jun 2014 16:22:00 +0000 Wade Goodwyn 32914 at http://tpr.org 'Open Carry' Gun Laws Spark Texas Backlash Both Sides Of Gun Debate Question Wendy Davis' Stance On Open Carry http://tpr.org/post/both-sides-gun-debate-question-wendy-davis-stance-open-carry <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Both gun groups and those wanting more restrictions aren’t surprised by Democratic gubernatorial candidate Wendy Davis’ position on open carry laws. </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Davis, in a written statement to the Associated Press, stated that she did support the practice for handguns and had a vision for how that would work in Texas.</span></p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 16:46:27 +0000 Ryan Poppe 26336 at http://tpr.org Both Sides Of Gun Debate Question Wendy Davis' Stance On Open Carry Two Students Wounded, 12-Year-Old Captured After School Shooting http://tpr.org/post/injuries-reported-after-school-shooting-roswell-nm <strong>This post was updated at 11 p.m. ET.</strong><p>A 12-year-old student opened fire Tuesday at a middle school in Roswell, N.M., wounding two fellow students. The shooter, who was armed with a shotgun, was arrested.<p>The <a href="http://bigstory.ap.org/article/police-shooting-middle-school-new-mexico" target="_blank">Associated Press reports</a>:<p><blockquote><p>"A boy was critically injured and a girl was in satisfactory condition following the shooting at Berrendo Middle School in Roswell.<p>"Gov. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 17:50:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 25055 at http://tpr.org How Would You React In A Shooting? Have A Plan, Experts Say http://tpr.org/post/how-would-you-react-shooting-have-plan-experts-say The annual number of mass murders and attempted mass murders in the U.S. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 14:39:39 +0000 Mark Memmott 24800 at http://tpr.org How Would You React In A Shooting? Have A Plan, Experts Say 2 Students Injured, Suspected Shooter Dead At Colo. High School http://tpr.org/post/shooter-dead-student-critically-injured-colorado-high-school A student armed with a shotgun apparently killed himself after opening fire at a Colorado high school, wounding two fellow students, police said Friday.<p>Arapahoe County Sheriff Grayson Robinson said the armed student entered the school and said he was looking for a specific teacher, calling him by name through the hallways. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 21:19:05 +0000 Scott Neuman 23528 at http://tpr.org 2 Students Injured, Suspected Shooter Dead At Colo. High School Gun Regulation Groups Give Texas Lawmakers An “F” http://tpr.org/post/gun-regulation-groups-give-texas-lawmakers-f <p style="margin-top:0in;margin-right:0in;margin-bottom:.2in;margin-left:0in; line-height:15.75pt"><st1:state w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on"><span style="font-size: 10.5pt; font-family: Georgia;">Texas</span></st1:place></st1:state><span style="font-size: 10.5pt; font-family: Georgia;"> gets a failing grade when it comes to passing gun legislation aimed at preventing violence, according a new study by two gun regulation groups. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 16:55:32 +0000 Ryan Poppe 23362 at http://tpr.org Gun Regulation Groups Give Texas Lawmakers An “F” Debate In Austin Over Guns On Campus http://tpr.org/post/debate-austin-over-guns-campus <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lawmakers heard testimony today on a series of bills that would allow college students and professors to carry guns on campus. &nbsp;College students, professors, and trained professionals spoke to Members of the House Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety. Some were in favor of the bill, and many felt threatened by the legislation. &nbsp;University of North Texas Professor Dr. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 21:17:58 +0000 Ryan Poppe 8004 at http://tpr.org Debate In Austin Over Guns On Campus SXSW 2013: Actress Trieste Kelly Dunn, on "Loves Her Gun" http://tpr.org/post/sxsw-2013-actress-trieste-kelly-dunn-loves-her-gun <p></p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 19:22:44 +0000 Nathan Cone 7804 at http://tpr.org SXSW 2013: Actress Trieste Kelly Dunn, on "Loves Her Gun"