opera http://tpr.org en Valkyries Ride All Night To Save Opera Company http://tpr.org/post/valkyries-ride-all-night-save-opera-company (<em>Happy April Fools 2014. See you next year</em><em>.) </em><p>American opera companies are producing as much drama in the boardroom as onstage. New York City Opera <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2013/10/02/228171680/chronicle-of-a-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors" target="_blank">folded in 2013</a> after years of unbalanced budgets. In March of this year, <a href="http://www.utsandiego.com/news/2014/Mar/19/san-diego-opera-fold/" target="_blank">San Diego Opera announced</a> that its current season, which ends in April, will be its last. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 13:55:26 +0000 Mark Mobley 29262 at http://tpr.org Valkyries Ride All Night To Save Opera Company For Opera Powerhouse Dolora Zajick, 'Singing Is Connected To The Body' http://tpr.org/post/opera-powerhouse-dolora-zajick-singing-connected-body <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZNN0VqaSlE</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 19:02:00 +0000 editor 28549 at http://tpr.org For Opera Powerhouse Dolora Zajick, 'Singing Is Connected To The Body' Gerard Mortier, A Polarizing Impresario Who Transformed Opera http://tpr.org/post/gerard-mortier-polarizing-impresario-who-transformed-opera <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPakF1dNcs8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJYN4gSwaaw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGDELst-HTU</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 02:33:45 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 28020 at http://tpr.org Gerard Mortier, A Polarizing Impresario Who Transformed Opera Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 http://tpr.org/post/robert-ashley-operas-misunderstood-innovator-dies-83 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQBpire6jhw</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 20:03:43 +0000 Tom Huizenga 27691 at http://tpr.org Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 Philippe Jaroussky And The Impossibly High Male Voice http://tpr.org/post/philippe-jaroussky-and-impossibly-high-male-voice Philippe Jaroussky cuts a masculine figure on the cover of his new album, <em>Farinelli: Porpora Arias</em>, but you might do a double take upon hearing the music. The arias the French opera singer performs on this release were written in the 18th century for a castrato — a boy singer castrated to retain his high singing voice through adulthood.<p>Jaroussky is still intact, as they say. He's a countertenor who achieves that high pitch through vocal technique — singing in a 'head voice,' the way the way a female soprano would, rather than in his speaking register. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 05:42:16 +0000 editor 27598 at http://tpr.org Philippe Jaroussky And The Impossibly High Male Voice Renee Fleming To Open San Antonio Symphony's 75th Anniversary Season http://tpr.org/post/renee-fleming-open-san-antonio-symphonys-75th-anniversary-season <p>I talked to the San Antonio Symphony's Music Director Sebastian Lang-Lessing today and asked what many in the arts community are wondering: who will be the focus of next year’s music festival?</p><p>“Richard Strauss,” revealed Lang-Lessing.</p><p>“For me it was just a natural way to celebrate the 75th anniversary with a Strauss festival," he said.</p><p>It's the San Antonio Symphony’s 75th year of playing and to get that anniversary started right, he had another big announcement.</p><p>“We open with Renee Fleming, so I’m very thrilled that this works out,” Lang-Lessing said.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 20:45:36 +0000 Jack Morgan 27128 at http://tpr.org Renee Fleming To Open San Antonio Symphony's 75th Anniversary Season Why Opera Matters http://tpr.org/post/why-opera-matters <p></p><p></p><p>The McNay Art Museum's Tobin Distinguished Lecture Series presented Marc Scorca, speaking on January 30, 2014. The title of his presentation is "Why Opera Matters."</p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 17:18:44 +0000 McNay Art Museum 26180 at http://tpr.org Why Opera Matters Seen The 'Brokeback Mountain' Movie? Now Watch The Opera http://tpr.org/post/seen-brokeback-mountain-movie-now-watch-opera In 2006, at the 78th Academy Awards, the film <em>Brokeback Mountain</em> captured three Oscars and the attention of movie fans everywhere. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:14:16 +0000 editor 26323 at http://tpr.org Seen The 'Brokeback Mountain' Movie? Now Watch The Opera Duke Ellington's Lost Opera, Forever A Work In Progress http://tpr.org/post/duke-ellingtons-lost-opera-forever-work-progress <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15396582/duke-ellington" target="_blank">Duke Ellington</a> added more than 3,000 songs to the American music vault before his death in 1974. He also started composing what he hoped would be a great American street opera — which composers have spent 40 years adapting, trying to figure out what the Duke wanted for his unfinished opus.<p>But before you imagine soothing arias or boisterous trills and vibrato, let me stop you: Ellington's opera is very much a work of jazz.<p><em>Queenie Pie</em> has been performed only a handful of times over the decades. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 02:55:54 +0000 Priska Neely 26072 at http://tpr.org Duke Ellington's Lost Opera, Forever A Work In Progress A Holocaust Tale Unfolds On Two Levels http://tpr.org/post/holocaust-tale-unfolds-two-levels Composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15670424/dmitri-shostakovich" target="_blank">Dmitri Shostakovich</a> called it a perfect masterpiece without ever having seen it performed. <em>The Passenger</em>, an opera about the Holocaust, was written nearly half a century ago, but was only given its first full performance just three years ago.<p>Now it's getting its U.S. premiere at the Houston Grand Opera. Sat, 01 Feb 2014 22:23:00 +0000 NPR Staff 26036 at http://tpr.org A Holocaust Tale Unfolds On Two Levels