Mali http://tpr.org en First Listen: Tinariwen, 'Emmaar' http://tpr.org/post/first-listen-tinariwen-emmaar How do you build on the reputation that has made your band the most visible ambassador of an entire people? For its seventh international album, <em>Emmaar</em>, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15405877/tinariwen" target="_blank">Tinariwen</a> has some striking ideas that were born out of both creativity and absolute necessity.<p>Unfortunately, <em>Emmaar</em> reflects the unpleasant truth of this time in Tinariwen's career. It was made in the U.S. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 14:54:20 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 26084 at http://tpr.org First Listen: Tinariwen, 'Emmaar' Radish Art In Oaxaca http://tpr.org/post/radish-art-oaxaca <p>Each week on World Music (Saturday nights at 8:00 on KSTX), we not only hear great music, but I take a look at celebrations happening around the world this week...</p><p><strong>LA NOCHE DE LOS RABANOS</strong></p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 14:48:54 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 23883 at http://tpr.org Radish Art In Oaxaca Rokia Traoré On Taking Up Music, And Mali's 'Iron Women' http://tpr.org/post/rokia-traor-taking-music-and-malis-iron-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vshD7FLuVpI</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 20:27:00 +0000 editor 19132 at http://tpr.org Rokia Traoré On Taking Up Music, And Mali's 'Iron Women' Rokia Traoré's "Beautiful Africa" http://tpr.org/post/rokia-traor-s-beautiful-africa <p>The cover of Rokia Traore’s latest album shows the singer fashionably attired, complete with a fedora-style hat, sitting on an amplifier with bare feet. Her guitar is propped up against a wall and she’s staring off into the distance. Her CD ‘<a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BHJ0MY2/ref=as_li_tf_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=211189&amp;creative=373489&amp;creativeASIN=B00BHJ0MY2&amp;link_code=as3&amp;tag=texaspublicra-20" target="_blank">Beautiful Africa</a>’ is indeed, beautiful.</p> Thu, 25 Jul 2013 22:22:41 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 15515 at http://tpr.org Rokia Traoré's "Beautiful Africa" Festival Au Desert: Music Of Peace Not Silenced By War http://tpr.org/post/festival-au-desert-music-peace-not-silenced-war Long ago, one of my college history professors hammered home a durable truth: "If you love art," she said, "you should hate war." Because some art is always among war's victims.<p>A case in point is a music celebration called Festival au Desert — held near Timbuktu, Mali, since 2001 — which I will Anglicize as Festival in the Desert. In January 2012, right after the last festival ended, a nationalist uprising began in the north of Mali, which was soon taken over by hardline Islamic fundamentalists. Thu, 30 May 2013 14:48:00 +0000 Milo Miles 12295 at http://tpr.org Festival Au Desert: Music Of Peace Not Silenced By War Musicians Unite For Peace In War-Torn Mali http://tpr.org/post/musicians-unite-peace-war-torn-mali <p>The West African nation of Mali has seen instability and violence since March of 2012 when a military coup overthrew the government of President Amadou Toumani Touré. Since then, the violence has escalated as Islamic extremists have joined the fighting and further divided the country into North and South.</p><p>This month France announced their intervention due to the rapid escalation of violence over the last few months, and the United States is now helping with operational support.</p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 20:16:30 +0000 Chris Eudaily 5272 at http://tpr.org Musicians Unite For Peace In War-Torn Mali "Timbuktoubab," A Musical Journey http://tpr.org/post/timbuktoubab-musical-journey <p></p><p>Have you ever been to Timbuktu (incidentally, it is spelled Tombouctou in Mali)? No? Well nor have I, so I found "<u><font color="#0000ff"><a href="http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/redirect?tag=texaspublicra-20&amp;creative=9325&amp;camp=1789&amp;link_code=as2&amp;path=ASIN/B0007N1K5E" style="color: rgb(74, 134, 178); text-decoration: none; " target="_blank">Timbuktoubab</a></font></u>," the documentary, riveting.</p> Tue, 26 Apr 2005 16:12:12 +0000 Deirdre Saravia 11651 at http://tpr.org "Timbuktoubab," A Musical Journey