Arts Education http://tpr.org en The Public School Where The Duke Lives On http://tpr.org/post/public-school-where-duke-lives Duke Ellington didn't consider himself a jazz musician.<p>He said he was a musician who played jazz. And what a musician: pianist, bandleader, composer of more than 1,000 songs including standards like "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)," "Satin Doll" and "Sophisticated Lady."<p>Edward Kennedy "Duke" Ellington was born on this date 115 years ago in Washington, D.C. And it may just be that Ellington lives on most profoundly, every day, at a public arts high school that bears his name. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 13:47:03 +0000 Susan Stamberg 30844 at http://tpr.org The Public School Where The Duke Lives On YOSA Más Program Changing More Students' Lives Through Music http://tpr.org/post/yosa-m-s-program-changing-more-students-lives-through-music <p>Having your children in band or orchestra can be expensive proposition, but as it turns out, not always. Youth Orchestras of San Antonio has a decades-long history in the Alamo City, but <a href="http://www.yosa.org/programs/yosa-mas/" target="_blank">YOSA&nbsp;</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://www.yosa.org/programs/yosa-mas/" target="_blank">Más</a> is still new, having been officially established in January, 2013</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">. The word <em>más </em>in the title has a double meaning. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 19:54:13 +0000 Jack Morgan 23517 at http://tpr.org YOSA Más Program Changing More Students' Lives Through Music The Source: SAY Si Shines In New Report | New JFK Documentary http://tpr.org/post/source-say-si-shines-new-report-new-jfk-documentary <p><strong>In the first segment:</strong></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">After school arts programs build a variety of socio-emotional areas in a child's life, but often times these programs don't extend to the poor.</span></p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 18:03:00 +0000 Paul Flahive 21772 at http://tpr.org The Source: SAY Si Shines In New Report | New JFK Documentary High School Students Can Learn Radio At Camp KPAC http://tpr.org/post/high-school-students-can-learn-radio-camp-kpac <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Are you a high school student who is interested in learning what it's like to work at a radio station?</span></p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 15:25:19 +0000 Nathan Cone 8326 at http://tpr.org High School Students Can Learn Radio At Camp KPAC John Lennon Bus Helps Kids Make Music, Art http://tpr.org/post/john-lennon-bus-helps-kids-make-music-art <p>The <a href="http://www.lennonbus.org/" target="_blank">John Lennon Educational Bus</a> stopped this week in San Antonio, where it was stationed at Café College downtown. &nbsp;The staff&nbsp;visited middle schools, &nbsp;high schools and colleges where they help students write, record, and make videos for original music.&nbsp;</p><p>Some students have never played instruments, so the bus staff also gave basic lessons.&nbsp;The bus has been around for 16 years, and they anticipate a second bus will be deployed in May for use in Europe.</p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 20:39:06 +0000 Carin Lamontagne 7462 at http://tpr.org John Lennon Bus Helps Kids Make Music, Art Say Sí Receives Unexpected $100,000 award http://tpr.org/post/say-s-receives-unexpected-100000-award <p></p><p>On Thursday the Say Sí multi-disciplinary arts program became the unexpected recipient of the $100,000 IMPACT San Antonio grant.</p><p><a href="http://impactsanantonio.org/" target="_blank">IMPACT San Antonio</a> presents large grants of $100,000 to selected non-profits each October and last year doubled its awards; honoring the <a href="http://www.txsaaf.org/" target="_blank">San Antonio AIDS Foundation</a> and the <a href="http://centerforfamilyrelations.org/" target="_blank">Center for Family Relations</a> each with grants to apply toward specific projects.</p> Fri, 08 Feb 2013 21:25:50 +0000 Eileen Pace 6104 at http://tpr.org Say Sí Receives Unexpected $100,000 award It's Not All About the Notes: What the Arts Teach Our Children http://tpr.org/post/its-not-all-about-notes-what-arts-teach-our-children <p></p><p><a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/wp/2013/01/22/top-10-skills-children-learn-from-the-arts/">The arts promote skills essential to academic and life success.</a></p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 20:54:10 +0000 James Baker 5349 at http://tpr.org It's Not All About the Notes: What the Arts Teach Our Children SXSW 2012: Arts Education The Inspiration Behind "Hunky Dory" http://tpr.org/post/sxsw-2012-arts-education-inspiration-behind-hunky-dory <p></p> Wed, 14 Mar 2012 17:24:20 +0000 Nathan Cone 8426 at http://tpr.org SXSW 2012: Arts Education The Inspiration Behind "Hunky Dory"