Brazil http://tpr.org en First Listen: Rolê, 'New Sounds Of Brazil' http://tpr.org/post/first-listen-rol-new-sounds-brazil This is not your parents' Brazilian music.<p>This is the Brazil where samba, bossa nova and Musica Popular Brasileira meet hip-hop, rock, jazz and electronica. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 05:02:46 +0000 Felix Contreras 33453 at http://tpr.org First Listen: Rolê, 'New Sounds Of Brazil' LISTEN: What São Paulo Sounds Like When The Seleção Scores http://tpr.org/post/listen-what-s-o-paulo-sounds-when-sele-o-scores <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g20q7_riCAE</p> Sat, 14 Jun 2014 18:36:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 33420 at http://tpr.org LISTEN: What São Paulo Sounds Like When The Seleção Scores The New Sounds Of Brazil: Artists To Watch http://tpr.org/post/new-sounds-brazil-artists-watch <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNXWlDLHLL8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqJGKcrwifI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZV7JOeJviY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v8kE6GD0WWE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TJxU7bZpT4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7f6MDdCOqow</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qt0Y-dgj-TU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-lPSWgSjzY</p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 18:58:02 +0000 editor 33300 at http://tpr.org The New Sounds Of Brazil: Artists To Watch Album Review: 'Abracaco' http://tpr.org/post/album-review-abracaco Caetano Veloso has been making music for over 40 years, and he's among the best known singers in his native Brazil. Banning Eyre says that Veloso's new album, <em>Abracaco</em>, is one of the most engaging in his epic career. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:35:00 +0000 editor 30489 at http://tpr.org "Rio 2" A Colorful Yet Crowded Travelogue http://tpr.org/post/rio-2-colorful-yet-crowded-travelogue <p></p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 04:31:26 +0000 Nathan Cone 29966 at http://tpr.org "Rio 2" A Colorful Yet Crowded Travelogue In Rio, A Universe Of Samba http://tpr.org/post/rio-universe-samba <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vn9XK1c91c</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK9hZVbeBFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFfwRYf3YzE</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 03:10:53 +0000 Tom Moon 27721 at http://tpr.org In Rio, A Universe Of Samba From Recife, Brazil, 3 Rhythms Get The Carnival Party Started http://tpr.org/post/recife-3-rhythms-get-carnival-party-started <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOjtXpl77_E</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 27534 at http://tpr.org From Recife, Brazil, 3 Rhythms Get The Carnival Party Started Grammy Award-Winner Luciana Souza Coming To The Carver http://tpr.org/post/grammy-award-winner-luciana-souza-coming-carver <p>That a Grammy-winning singer is coming to the Carver Cultural Center is a big deal, but that she's been nominated seven times makes it far bigger still. She's Brazilian jazz singer Luciana Souza, who will perform Saturday, January 19, at the Carver’s Jo Long Theater<strong>, </strong>and to call her music smooth is an understatement.</p><p>I spoke withe Ms. Souza recently about her upcoming performance.</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 17:04:37 +0000 Jack Morgan 24865 at http://tpr.org Grammy Award-Winner Luciana Souza Coming To The Carver In Sao Paulo, Organic Markets Are Beginning To Take Off http://tpr.org/post/sao-paulo-organic-markets-are-beginning-take Sao Paulo holds the title of the biggest city in Latin America, with an estimated 22 million people in its metropolitan area. But when it comes to local, organic food, the pickings are pretty slim: The city has just 20 organic farmers' markets.<p>Organic food has been slow to take off in Brazil, one of the world's biggest agricultural powerhouses. Brazilian farmers use more pesticides per volume of crop than farmers in any other country in the world, according to the Brazilian Environment Ministry. Sun, 05 Jan 2014 19:32:00 +0000 Paula Moura 24589 at http://tpr.org In Sao Paulo, Organic Markets Are Beginning To Take Off Best Of Brasil Summerfest 2013: Hip Hop, Samba, Tecno Brega And Beyond http://tpr.org/post/best-brasil-summerfest-2013-hip-hop-samba-tecno-brega-and-beyond <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjEksMResQg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rA0NPUtJk00</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nGmPH6994w</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWeOJD3oidg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfKQHmoKssI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=praKdDlvXqo</p> Thu, 25 Jul 2013 13:15:06 +0000 editor 15467 at http://tpr.org Best Of Brasil Summerfest 2013: Hip Hop, Samba, Tecno Brega And Beyond