Texas Public Radio http://tpr.org en China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide http://tpr.org/post/chinas-booming-real-estate-market-finally-begins-slide After years of stunning growth, China's go-go real estate market is now in retreat.<p>Prices fell last month in 79 out of 100 cities, according China Real Estate Index run by SouFun Holdings, a real estate website. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 34811 at http://tpr.org Detroit Shuts Off Water As It Collects Millions In Overdue Bills http://tpr.org/post/detroit-shuts-water-it-tries-collect-millions-overdue-bills So far this year, 17,000 customers have had their water shut off. Many residents are upset with how the city is going about it, and question whether some are getting special treatment. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 34810 at http://tpr.org FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims, Report Says http://tpr.org/post/fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims-report-says The latest revelation from Edward Snowden's NSA trove is a story that appeared in the online publication The Intercept. Five prominent Muslim citizens say they were spied on because they're Muslims. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 David Welna 34809 at http://tpr.org University Of Michigan Plant Is Definitely A Late Bloomer http://tpr.org/post/university-michigan-plant-definitely-late-bloomer A botanist at the University of Michigan describes a plant that is blooming at the arboretum there for the first time in 80 years. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 34808 at http://tpr.org From McDonald's To Organic Valley, You're Probably Eating Wood Pulp http://tpr.org/post/mcdonalds-organic-valley-youre-probably-eating-wood-pulp Do not be alarmed, but you may be eating wood pulp. Or at least an additive that started out as wood.<p>If you buy shredded cheeses, including brands such as Organic Valley and Sargento, or hit the drive-thru at McDonalds for a breakfast sandwich or a smoothie, or douse some ribs with bottled barbecue sauce, there's likely some cellulose that's been added to your food.<p>Cellulose is basically plant fiber, and one of the most common sources is wood pulp. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:29:00 +0000 editor 34806 at http://tpr.org From McDonald's To Organic Valley, You're Probably Eating Wood Pulp The Little Spacecraft That Couldn't http://tpr.org/post/little-spacecraft-couldnt An audacious quest to reconnect with a vintage NASA spacecraft has suffered a serious setback and is now pretty much over.<p>The satellite launched in 1978 and has been in a long, looping orbit around the sun for about three decades. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:28:00 +0000 Nell Greenfieldboyce 34804 at http://tpr.org The Little Spacecraft That Couldn't Binging On Bad News Can Fuel Daily Stress http://tpr.org/post/binging-bad-news-can-fuel-daily-stress If you're feeling stressed these days, the news media may be partly to blame.<p>At least that's the suggestion of <a href="http://www.rwjf.org/en/research-publications/find-rwjf-research/2014/07/the-burden-of-stress-in-america.html">a national survey </a>conducted by NPR, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Harvard School of Public Health.<p>The survey of more than 2,500 Americans found that about 1 in 4 said they had experienced a "great deal" of stress in the previous month. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 34805 at http://tpr.org Binging On Bad News Can Fuel Daily Stress Could A Socialist Senator Become A National Brand? http://tpr.org/post/could-socialist-senator-become-national-brand As members of Congress continue hammering out a bill to improve the Veterans Administration's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/06/04/318827245/va-health-cares-chronic-ailments-long-waits-and-red-tape">beleaguered health care system</a>, attention has focused on one man leading the charge: Bernie Sanders, Independent senator from Vermont and a self-described Socialist.<p>Sanders barely got 2 percent of the vote when he first tried breaking into Vermont politics in the 1970s, but now there's buzz that the man known simply as "Bernie" may be a presidential candidate in 2016.<p>"The c Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Ailsa Chang 34807 at http://tpr.org Could A Socialist Senator Become A National Brand? San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro: It Is For Me Bittersweet http://tpr.org/post/san-antonio-mayor-julian-castro-it-me-bittersweet <p>Since the process of being nominated to lead the department of Housing and Urban Development, testifying before a Senate committee and finally being confirmed for the job, left some uncertainty, Julian Castro had remained mum about the future.</p><p>But on Wednesday, a Senate confirmation finally allowed the 39 year old mayor, husband and father to let his guard down and talk candidly about his new role in Washington, D.C.</p><p>During an afternoon news conference, Castro spoke with emotion and candor.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 03:38:22 +0000 Ryan Loyd 34795 at http://tpr.org San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro: It Is For Me Bittersweet Wichita Falls Fights Devastating Drought http://tpr.org/post/wichita-falls-fights-devastating-drought Wichita Falls, Texas, is in its worst drought on record &#8211; worse than the dustbowl days of the &#8217;50s. It started in 2010, and climatologists don&#8217;t see it letting up any time soon.<p>As city manager <strong>Darron Leiker</strong> explains, the city has taken a series of aggressive measures to cope.<p><h4>Guest</h4> <ul> <li><strong><a href="http://www.wichitafallstx.gov/?NID=28" target="_blank">Darron Leiker</a></strong>, city manager of Wichita Falls.</li> </ul> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 WBUR-FM. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 03:16:07 +0000 editor 34803 at http://tpr.org Wichita Falls Fights Devastating Drought