Texas Public Radio http://tpr.org en 'Guardians' Director: This Movie Needed Me! http://tpr.org/post/guardians-director-movie-needed-me <strong></strong>Marvel's cinematic universe of superheroes has become one of the most successful movie franchises ever. So it's easy to forget that less than a decade ago, Iron Man and Captain America weren't even on the radar of many filmgoers.<p>Now, Marvel's pinning its summer blockbuster hopes on an outer-space misadventure that features heroes from one of its more obscure comic book titles: <em>Guardians of the Galaxy</em>. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 15:37:51 +0000 NPR Staff 36064 at http://tpr.org 'Guardians' Director: This Movie Needed Me! During Transport, A Giraffe In South Africa Hits Head On Overpass, Dies http://tpr.org/post/during-transport-giraffe-south-africa-hits-head-overpass-dies <a href="https://twitter.com/gussilber/status/495151630774730752">As one South African journalist put it on Twitter</a>, this tale is worthy of Aesop: It starts on a South African highway on Thursday. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 14:01:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 36063 at http://tpr.org During Transport, A Giraffe In South Africa Hits Head On Overpass, Dies Simmering Online Debate Shows Emoji Is In The Eye Of The Beholder http://tpr.org/post/simmering-online-debate-shows-emoji-eye-beholder Images, GIFs and <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/06/30/326937998/why-140-characters-when-one-will-do-tracing-the-emoji-evolution">emojis</a> — particularly the latter — have morphed into ways we express our feelings. They've quickly replaced words and sentences in our texts, tweets and emails.<p><em>So, what is this emoji? Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:48:00 +0000 Kat Chow 36062 at http://tpr.org Simmering Online Debate Shows Emoji Is In The Eye Of The Beholder Cantor To Step Down This Month To Make Room For Successor http://tpr.org/post/cantor-step-down-month-make-room-successor Fresh from relinquishing his House majority leader position in the wake of a stinging primary defeat, Rep. Eric Cantor now says he will give up his Virginia congressional seat months before his term expires, to make room for his replacement.<p>"[It] is with tremendous gratitude and a heavy heart that I have decided to resign from Congress, effective Aug. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:24:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 36058 at http://tpr.org Cantor To Step Down This Month To Make Room For Successor Why Is Parenthood Filled With So Much Anxiety? http://tpr.org/post/why-parenthood-filled-so-much-anxiety <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Jennifer Senior's TEDTalk</strong><p>Journalist <a href="http://www.jennifersenior.com/">Jennifer Senior</a> says the goal of raising happy children is so elusive it has put modern, middle-class parents into a panic. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 36061 at http://tpr.org Why Is Parenthood Filled With So Much Anxiety? What Does It Mean To Be A 'Child Of The State'? http://tpr.org/post/what-does-it-mean-be-child-state <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Lemn Sissay's TEDTalk</strong><p>Poet <a href="https://twitter.com/lemnsissay">Lemn Sissay</a> was raised by the state. He talks about the empty space where his family should have been.<p><strong>About Lemn Sissay</strong><p>Lemn Sissay is the author of <a href="http://lemnsissay.com/writing-2/books-2/">a series of poetry collections</a>. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 36060 at http://tpr.org What Does It Mean To Be A 'Child Of The State'? How Do Our Worst Moments Shape Us? http://tpr.org/post/how-do-our-worst-moments-shape-us <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Andrew Solomon's TEDTalk</strong><p>Writer <a href="http://andrewsolomon.com/">Andrew Solomon</a> dives into his childhood to describe moments of great adversity, and how they helped him build identity.<p><strong>About Andrew Solomon</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/andrew_solomon">Andrew Solomon</a> writes about politics, culture, and psychology. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 36059 at http://tpr.org How Do Our Worst Moments Shape Us? Unemployment Ticks Up To 6.2 Percent; 209,000 Jobs Added http://tpr.org/post/unemployment-ticks-62-percent-209000-jobs-added The nation's unemployment rate moved up a bit in the month of July, to 6.2 percent, as more Americans who'd been sitting on the sidelines started looking for work, according to the latest monthly<a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/empsit.nr0.htm"> report released by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.</a> Nonfarm payrolls increased by 209,000 jobs, a bit less than economists had expected.<p>Even so, according to <a href="http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/08/01/us-usa-economy-idUSKBN0G134N20140801">Reuters</a>, it marks "the sixth straight month that employment has expanded by more than 200, Fri, 01 Aug 2014 12:44:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 36057 at http://tpr.org Unemployment Ticks Up To 6.2 Percent; 209,000 Jobs Added Court In Uganda Throws Out Anti-Gay Law http://tpr.org/post/court-uganda-throws-out-anti-gay-law A court in Uganda has thrown out a controversial law that punished acts of homosexuality harshly, including with life in prison.<p><a href="http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/uganda-court-rule-legality-anti-gay-law-24801511">The AP reports</a> the decision was a technical one. The court ruled that there was no quorum when Parliament met to pass the law.<p>The AP adds:<p><blockquote><p>"'The speaker was obliged to ensure that there was quorum,' the court said in its ruling. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 12:19:00 +0000 editor 36056 at http://tpr.org Court In Uganda Throws Out Anti-Gay Law Caffeine Gives Athletes An Edge, But Don't Overdo It http://tpr.org/post/caffeine-gives-athletes-edge-dont-overdo-it After winning the Tour de France last Sunday, Vincenzo Nibali was tested for a bunch of performance-enhancing substances. But Nibali and his fellow competitors were welcome to have several cups of coffee (or cans of Red Bull), before their ride into Paris; caffeine is not on the World Anti-Doping Agency's <a href="http://www.wada-ama.org/Documents/World_Anti-Doping_Program/WADP-Prohibited-list/2014/WADA-prohibited-list-2014-EN.pdf">banned list</a>.<p>Still, the drug is definitely a performance booster. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Katherine Hobson 36055 at http://tpr.org Caffeine Gives Athletes An Edge, But Don't Overdo It